Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(625 ILCS 5/3-702)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-702)
Operation of vehicle when registration cancelled,
suspended or revoked.
(a) No person shall operate, nor shall an owner
knowingly permit to be operated, upon any highway:
(1) A vehicle the registration of which has been
cancelled, suspended or revoked; or
(2) A vehicle properly registered in another
Reciprocal State, the foreign registration of which, or the Illinois Reciprocity Permit or Decal of which, has been cancelled, suspended or revoked.
(b) No person shall use, nor shall any owner use or knowingly permit the
use of any Illinois registration plate or plates or digital registration plate or plates or registration sticker or digital registration sticker
or any Illinois Reciprocity Permit or Prorate Decal which has
been cancelled, suspended or revoked.
(c) Any violation of this Section is a Class A misdemeanor unless:
1. the registration of the motor vehicle has been
suspended for noninsurance, then the provisions of Section 3-708 of this Code apply in lieu of this Section.
2. the registration of the motor vehicle has been
suspended for failure to purchase a vehicle tax sticker pursuant to Section 3-704.1 of this Code, then the violation shall be considered a business offense and the person shall be required to pay a fine in excess of $500, but not more than $1,000.
(Source: P.A. 101-395, eff. 8-16-19.)