Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(625 ILCS 5/3-685)
United Auto Workers license plates.
(a) The Secretary, upon receipt of all applicable fees and applications
made in the form prescribed by the Secretary, may issue special registration
plates designated as United Auto Workers
license plates. The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to
passenger vehicles of the first division or motor vehicles of the second
division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds. Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year
procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
(b) The design and color of the special plates shall be wholly within the
discretion of the Secretary. Appropriate documentation, as determined by the
Secretary, shall accompany each application.
The Secretary may allow the plates to be issued as vanity plates or
personalized plates under Section 3-405.1 of this Code. The Secretary shall
prescribe stickers or decals as provided under Section 3-412 of this Code.
(c) An applicant for the special plate shall be charged a $25 fee for
original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee. Of this
fee, $10 shall be deposited into the
United Auto Workers' Fund and $15 shall be
deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to be used by
the Secretary to help defray the administrative processing costs.
For each registration renewal period, a $25 fee, in addition to the
appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $23 shall be
deposited into the
United Auto Workers' Fund and $2 shall be deposited into the
Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
(d) The United Auto Workers' Fund is created as a special fund in the State
treasury. All moneys in the
United Auto Workers' Fund shall be paid, subject to
by the General Assembly
and distribution by the Secretary, as grants to charitable entities designated
by Illinois local unions affiliated with the United Auto Workers.
(Source: P.A. 96-687, eff. 1-1-10; 97-409, eff. 1-1-12.)