Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(625 ILCS 5/3-654)
Illinois Public Broadcasting System Stations
(a) The Secretary, upon receipt of all applicable fees and applications
made in the form prescribed by the Secretary, may issue special registration
plates designated as Illinois Public Broadcasting System Stations special
The special plates issued under this Section shall be affixed only to
passenger vehicles of the first division or motor vehicles of the second
division weighing not more than 8,000 pounds.
Plates issued under this Section shall expire according to the multi-year
procedure established by Section 3-414.1 of this Code.
(b) The design and color of the special plates shall be wholly within the
discretion of the Secretary.
The Secretary may, in his or her discretion, allow the plates to be issued as
vanity or personalized plates in accordance with Section 3-405.1 of this Code.
The plates are not required to designate "Land of Lincoln", as prescribed in
subsection (b) of Section 3-412 of this Code. The Secretary, in his or her
discretion, shall approve and prescribe stickers or decals as provided
under Section 3-412.
(c) An applicant for the special plate shall be charged a $40
original issuance in addition to the appropriate registration fee. Of this
fee, $25 shall be deposited into the Public Broadcasting
Fund and $15
shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund, to
be used by the Secretary to help defray the administrative processing costs.
For each registration renewal period, a $27 fee, in addition to the
appropriate registration fee, shall be charged. Of this fee, $25 shall be
deposited into the
Fund and $2 shall be deposited
into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund.
(d) The Public Broadcasting Fund is created as a special fund in the
State treasury. Subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and distribution
by the Secretary, the Secretary shall pay
all moneys in the Public Broadcasting Fund
to the various Public Broadcasting System stations in Illinois for operating
(Source: P.A. 97-409, eff. 1-1-12.)