Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
625 ILCS 5/3-403
(625 ILCS 5/3-403)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 3-403)
Trip and Short-term permits.
(a) The Secretary of State may issue a short-term permit to operate a
nonregistered first or second division vehicle within the State of Illinois
for a period of not more than 7 days. Any second division vehicle
on such permit may operate only on empty weight. The fee for the
short-term permit shall be $6 for permits purchased on
or before June 30, 2003
and $10 for permits purchased on or after July 1, 2003. For short-term
permits purchased on or after July 1, 2003, $4 of the fee collected for the
purchase of each permit shall be deposited into the General Revenue Fund.
This permit may also be issued to operate an unladen registered vehicle
which is suspended under the Vehicle Emissions Inspection Law and allow it
to be driven on the roads and highways of the State in order to be repaired
or when travelling to and from an emissions inspection station.
(b) The Secretary of State may, subject to reciprocal agreements,
arrangements or declarations made or entered into pursuant to Section
3-402, 3-402.4 or by rule, provide for and issue registration permits for
the use of Illinois highways by vehicles of the second division on an
occasional basis or for a specific and special short-term use, in
compliance with rules and regulations promulgated by the Secretary of
State, and upon payment of the prescribed fee as follows:
One-trip permits. A registration permit for one trip, or one round-trip
into and out of Illinois, for a period not to exceed 72 consecutive hours
or 3 calendar days may be provided, for a fee as prescribed in Section 3-811.
One-Month permits. A registration permit for 30 days may be provided for
a fee of $13 for registration plus 1/10 of the flat weight tax.
The minimum fee for such permit shall be $31.
In-transit permits. A registration permit for one trip may be provided
for vehicles in transit by the driveaway or towaway method and operated
by a transporter in compliance with the Illinois Motor Carrier of Property
Law, for a fee as prescribed in Section 3-811.
Illinois Temporary Apportionment Authorization Permits. An apportionment
authorization permit for forty-five days for the immediate operation of
a vehicle upon application for and prior to receiving apportioned credentials
or interstate credentials from the State of Illinois. The fee for
such permit shall be $3.
Illinois Temporary Prorate Authorization Permit. A prorate authorization
permit for forty-five days for the immediate operation of a vehicle upon
application for and prior to receiving prorate credentials or interstate
credentials from the State of Illinois. The fee for such permit shall be
(c) The Secretary of State shall promulgate by such rule or regulation,
schedules of fees and taxes for such permits and in computing the amount
or amounts due, may round off such amount to the nearest full dollar amount.
(d) The Secretary of State shall further prescribe the form of application
and permit and may require such information and data as necessary and proper,
including confirming the status or identity of the applicant and the vehicle
(e) Rules or regulations promulgated by the Secretary of State under this
Section shall provide for reasonable and proper limitations and restrictions
governing the application for and issuance and use of permits, and shall
provide for the number of permits per vehicle or per applicant, so as to
preclude evasion of annual registration requirements as may be required by
(f) Any permit under this Section is subject to suspension or revocation
under this Act, and in addition, any such permit is subject to suspension
or revocation should the Secretary of State determine that the vehicle
identified in any permit should be properly registered in Illinois. In the
event any such permit is suspended or revoked, the permit is then null and
void, may not be re-instated, nor is a refund therefor available. The
vehicle identified in such permit may not thereafter be operated in
Illinois without being properly registered as provided in this Chapter.
(Source: P.A. 92-680, eff. 7-16-02; 93-32, eff. 7-1-03.)