Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

625 ILCS 5/18c-1704

    (625 ILCS 5/18c-1704) (from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 18c-1704)
    Sec. 18c-1704. Sanctions. Each violation of this Chapter shall subject the violator to the following sanctions, except as otherwise provided elsewhere in this Chapter. Sanctions provided for in this Section may be imposed by the Commission only in compliance with the notice and hearing requirements of Section 18c-2102 of this Chapter.
    (1) Criminal Misdemeanor Penalties. Each violation of this Chapter shall constitute a Class C misdemeanor.
    (2) Civil Penalties. The Commission may assess, against any person found by it to have violated this Chapter, a civil penalty not greater than $1,000 nor less than $100 per violation. The penalty assessed by the Commission shall reflect the number and severity of violations found to have been committed. Penalties assessed by the Commission shall be enforced by any court having venue in enforcement cases under this Chapter.
    (3) Cease and Desist Orders. The Commission may, where a person is found after hearing to have violated this Chapter, Commission regulations or orders, and justice requires, order the person to cease and desist from further or from any future violations. A cease and desist order may be entered on the Commission's own motion or by agreement between the parties. Orders and agreements under this Section shall be valid and enforceable for the period stated therein, not to exceed 2 years from the date the order or agreement is approved by the Commission, unless the parties stipulate otherwise. Such orders and agreements shall be enforceable in any court of this State having venue and jurisdiction in enforcement actions under this Chapter. Failure to comply with a Commission cease and desist order shall constitute a violation of this Chapter separate and apart from any underlying violations.
    (4) Stipulated Settlements.
        (a) General Provisions. The Commission may accept a
reasonable monetary settlement, suspension or revocation of a license or registration, or any other reasonable terms stipulated between the respondent and staff, with or without a finding of violations.
        (b) Presumption of Reasonableness. Such stipulations
shall be presumed reasonable. Unless the terms of a stipulation exceed such parameters as the Commission may establish, this presumption is rebuttable only by evidence of record at hearing.
        (c) Parameters. Parameters for settlement shall be
based on type of violation; severity, as measured by revenues from unlawful activities; and number of violations. Minimum settlement amounts may be established.
        (d) Orders. Orders suspending proposed settlements
shall cite reasons for suspension which are specific to the case. Orders rejecting proposed settlements shall recite the grounds on which the settlements are found to be unreasonable and describe the evidence which supports such findings.
    (5) Injunctive Relief. Any court with jurisdiction and venue for purposes of enforcing this Chapter shall have the power to enjoin any person from committing violations of this Chapter. Suit for penalties shall not be a prerequisite to injunctive relief. No bond shall be required when injunctive relief is granted at the request of the Commission.
    (6) Suspension or Revocation of Licenses and Registrations.
        (a) Availability of Suspension and Revocation as
Sanctions. Violation of this Chapter by a motor carrier of property or passengers shall, in addition to other sanctions provided herein, subject the violator to suspension or revocation of any or all Commission licenses and registrations. The Commission may impose the sanctions of suspension and revocation. Where the violation is failure of a motor carrier of property or passengers to have in effect and file proof of continuous insurance coverage in accordance with this Chapter, Commission regulations and orders, the license or registration or both may be suspended by telephonic or telegraphic directive, confirmed by certified or registered mail or personal service, pending final disposition of revocation proceedings.
        (b) Suspension Pending Adjudication. Where the
violation is failure of a motor carrier of property to pay a franchise or franchise renewal fee, the license or registration or both may be suspended by certified or registered mail or personally served directive, pending final disposition of revocation proceedings.
        (c) Special Revocation Procedures.
            (i) Notice. The Commission shall serve notice
upon all persons who have failed to pay a franchise tax, license fee, or penalty required under the Business Corporation Act of 1983, or who have failed to comply with this Chapter, Commission regulations and orders, regarding the filing of proof of continuous insurance or bond coverage, the payment of periodic fees, the filing of periodic reports, the payment of civil penalties, or the filing of rates to the full extent of a carrier's authority. The notice shall advise such person of the apparent violations and state that, unless the Commission receives a written request for hearing or extension of time within 30 days from the date the notice is served, the person's license or registration will be revoked by operation of law without further action by the Commission.
            (ii) Extensions of Time. The Commission may grant
one extension of time not exceeding 60 days where the extension will not endanger the public.
            (iii) Request for Hearing. If a timely written
request for hearing is received, no further action shall be taken until the requirements of Section 18c-2102 of this Chapter have been satisfied.
            (iv) Revocation by Operation of Law. If, at the
expiration of the applicable time period, the person has not complied with the pertinent requirements, and a written request for hearing has not been received, the person will be deemed to have waived hearing and the license or registration shall be revoked by operation of law without further action by the Commission as if the Commission has served an order on the date following expiration revoking the license or registration.
    (7) Probation. The Commission may probate the imposition of any of the sanctions set forth in this Section.
(Source: P.A. 88-415.)