Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
625 ILCS 5/15-113
(625 ILCS 5/15-113)
(from Ch. 95 1/2, par. 15-113)
(a) Whenever any vehicle is operated in violation of the provisions of
Section 15-111 or subsection (d) of Section 3-401, the owner or driver of such
vehicle shall be deemed guilty of such violation and either the owner or the
driver of such vehicle may be prosecuted for such violation.
Any person charged with a violation of any of these provisions who pleads not
guilty shall be present in court for the trial on the charge.
Any person, firm, or corporation convicted of any violation of
Section 15-111 including, but not limited to, a maximum axle or gross limit
specified on a regulatory sign posted in accordance with paragraph (e) or (f) of Section 15-111, shall be fined according to the following schedule:
Up to and including 2000 pounds overweight, the fine is $100
From 2001 through 2500 pounds overweight, the fine is $270
From 2501 through 3000 pounds overweight, the fine is $330
From 3001 through 3500 pounds overweight, the fine is $520
From 3501 through 4000 pounds overweight, the fine is $600
From 4001 through 4500 pounds overweight, the fine is $850
From 4501 through 5000 pounds overweight, the fine is $950
From 5001 or more pounds overweight, the fine shall be computed by assessing $1500 for the first 5000 pounds overweight and $150 for each additional increment of 500 pounds overweight or fraction thereof.
In addition, any person, firm, or corporation convicted of 4 or more violations
of Section 15-111 within any 12 month period shall be fined an additional
amount of $5,000 for the fourth and each subsequent conviction within the 12
month period. Provided, however, that with regard to a firm or corporation,
a fourth or subsequent conviction shall mean a fourth or subsequent
conviction attributable to any one employee-driver.
(b) Whenever any vehicle is operated in violation of the provisions of
Sections 15-102, 15-103 or 15-107, the owner or driver of
such vehicle shall be deemed guilty of such violation and either may be
prosecuted for such violation. Any person, firm, or corporation convicted
of any violation of Sections 15-102, 15-103 or 15-107 shall be fined for
the first or second conviction an amount equal to not less than $50 nor
more than $500, and for the third and subsequent convictions by the same
person, firm, or corporation within a period of one year after the date of
the first offense, not less than $500 nor more than $1,000.
(c) All proceeds equal to 50% of the fines recovered under subsection (a) of this Section shall be remitted to the State Treasurer and deposited into the Capital Projects Fund.
(Source: P.A. 100-987, eff. 7-1-19; 100-1161, eff. 7-1-19