Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

620 ILCS 5/42

    (620 ILCS 5/42) (from Ch. 15 1/2, par. 22.42)
    Sec. 42. Regulation of aircraft, airmen, and airports.
    (a) The general public interest and safety, the safety of persons operating, using, or traveling in, aircraft, and of persons and property on the ground, and the interest of aeronautical progress require that aircraft operated within this State should be airworthy, that airmen should be properly qualified, and that air navigation facilities should be suitable for the purposes for which they are designed. The purposes of this Act require that the Department should be enabled to exercise the powers of regulation and supervision herein granted. The advantage of uniform regulation makes it desirable that aircraft operated within this State should conform with respect to design, construction, and airworthiness to the standards prescribed by the United States Government with respect to civil aircraft subject to its jurisdiction and that persons engaging in aeronautics within this State should have the qualifications necessary for obtaining and holding appropriate airman certificates of the United States. It is desirable and right that all applicable fees and taxes shall be paid with respect to aircraft operated within this State.
    (b) In light of the findings in subsection (a), the Department is authorized:
        (1) To require the registration, every 2 years, of
federal licenses, certificates or permits of civil aircraft engaged in air navigation within this State, and a one-time registration of airmen engaged in aeronautics within this State, and to issue certificates of such registration. These certificates of registration constitute the authorization of such aircraft and airmen for operations within this State to the extent permitted by the federal licenses, certificates or permits so registered. It shall charge a fee, payable every 2 years, for the registration of each federal license, certificate or permit of $20 for each aircraft certificate and a one-time fee of $20, payable at registration, for each airman's certificate. It may accept as evidence of the holding of a federal license, certificate or permit the verified application of the airman or the owner of the aircraft, which application shall contain such information as the Department may by rule, ruling, regulation, order or decision prescribe. The Department's authority to register aircraft or to issue certificates of registration is limited as follows:
            (i) Except as to any aircraft vehicle purchased
before March 8, 1963, the Department, in the case of the first registration of any aircraft vehicle for any given owner on or after March 8, 1963, may not issue a certificate of registration with respect to any aircraft vehicle until after the Department has been satisfied that no tax under the Use Tax Act, the Aircraft Use Tax Law, the Municipal Use Tax Act, or the Home Rule County Use Tax Law is owing by reason of the use of the vehicle in Illinois or that any tax so imposed has been paid. A receipt issued under those Acts by the Department of Revenue constitutes proof of payment of the tax. For the purpose of this paragraph, "aircraft vehicle" means a single aircraft.
            (ii) If the proof of payment of the tax or of
nonliability therefor is, after the issuance of the certificate of registration, found to be invalid, the Department shall revoke the certificate and require that the certificate be returned to the Department.
        (2) To classify and approve airports and restricted
landing areas and any alterations or extensions thereof. Certificates of approval issued pursuant to this paragraph, or pursuant to any prior law, shall be issued in the name of the applicant and shall be transferable upon a change of ownership or control of the airport or restricted landing area only after approval of the Department. No charge or fee shall be made or imposed for any kind of certificate of approval or a transfer thereof.
        (3) To revoke, temporarily or permanently, any
certificate of registration of an aircraft or airman issued by it, or to refuse to issue any such certificate of registration, when it shall reasonably determine that any aircraft is not airworthy, or that any airman:
            (i) is not qualified;
            (ii) has willfully violated the laws of this
State pertaining to aeronautics or any rules, rulings, regulations, orders, or decisions issued pursuant thereto, or any Federal law or any rule or regulation issued pursuant thereto;
            (iii) is addicted to the use of narcotics or
other habit forming drug, or to the excessive use of intoxicating liquor;
            (iv) has made any false statement in any
application for registration of a federal license, certificate or permit; or
            (v) has been guilty of other conduct, acts, or
practices dangerous to the public safety or the safety of those engaged in aeronautics.
    (c) The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend the certificate of any person who fails to file a return, or to pay the tax, penalty or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the Illinois Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of any such tax Act are satisfied.
    (d) The Department shall require the display of an POW/MIA flag at any airport in its jurisdiction, either upon the same flagstaff as the United States national flag or otherwise.
    If the POW/MIA flag is displayed on the same flagstaff as the United States flag, the POW/MIA flag shall fly immediately below the United States flag. If the United States flag and a State flag or other flag or pennant is flown along with the POW/MIA flag on the same flagstaff, the order from top to bottom shall be: the United States flag, the POW/MIA flag, then the State flag or other flags, unless otherwise stipulated by the Flag Display Act.
(Source: P.A. 101-538, eff. 8-23-19.)