Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(520 ILCS 5/3.4)
(from Ch. 61, par. 3.4)
Before a trapping license shall be issued
to any person, such person shall make application to the Department or any
county, city, village, township or incorporated town clerk or his or her duly
designated agent upon an application form provided by the Department.
This application shall be executed and sworn to and shall set forth the
name and description of the applicant and his or her place of residence.
The fee for a trapping license for a resident of
this State shall be $10.00.
The Department may provide for non-resident trapping license provided
that any non-resident shall be charged a fee of $175,
and if the state in which the applicant
resides does not provide for trapping mammals by Illinois
residents, then the fee shall be $250.
Every person trapping mammals shall make a report properly
sworn to, to the Department, upon blanks supplied by the Department for
such purpose, of all hides of mammals taken, sold, shipped
or dealt in, during the open seasons for mammals together with
the names and addresses of the parties to whom
the same were sold or shipped. Such report shall be made to the
Department within 15 days after the close of the trapping
season. Failure to report or filing false reports shall subject the person
to the penalties provided in Section 3.5. Further, the Department may
refuse to issue a trapping license for the following year to any person who
has failed to file such a report.
All trapping licenses shall expire on March 31 of each year.
(Source: P.A. 100-123, eff. 1-1-18