Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
520 ILCS 5/3.2
(520 ILCS 5/3.2)
(from Ch. 61, par. 3.2)
Hunting license; application; instruction.
Department or any county, city, village, township, incorporated town clerk
or his duly designated agent or any other person authorized or designated
by the Department to issue hunting licenses shall issue a hunting license
to any person, the person shall file his application with the Department or
other party authorized to issue licenses on a form provided by the
Department and further give definite proof of identity and place of legal
residence. Each clerk designating agents to issue licenses and stamps
shall furnish the Department, within 10 days following the appointment, the
names and mailing addresses of the agents. Each clerk or his duly
designated agent shall be authorized to sell licenses and stamps only
within the territorial area for which he was elected or appointed. No duly
designated agent is authorized to furnish licenses or stamps for
issuance by any other business establishment. Each
application shall be executed and sworn to and shall set forth the name
and description of the applicant and place of residence.
No hunting license shall be issued to any person born on or after January
unless he presents the person authorized to issue the license
evidence that he has held a hunting license issued by the State of Illinois
or another state in a prior year, or a certificate of competency as
provided in this Section. Persons under 18 years of age may be issued a
Lifetime Hunting or Sportsmen's Combination License as provided under Section
20-45 of the Fish and Aquatic Life Code but shall not be entitled to hunt alone, without the supervision of an adult age 21 or older,
unless they have a certificate of competency as provided in this Section and
the certificate is in their possession while hunting.
The Department of Natural Resources shall authorize
personnel of the
Department or certified volunteer instructors to conduct courses, of not
less than 10 hours in length, in firearms and hunter safety, which may include
training in bow and arrow safety, at regularly specified intervals throughout
the State. Persons successfully completing the course shall receive a
certificate of competency. The Department of Natural Resources may further
cooperate with any reputable association or organization in establishing
courses if the organization has as one of its objectives the promotion of
safety in the handling of firearms or bow and arrow.
The Department of Natural Resources shall designate any
person found by it
to be competent to give instruction in the handling of firearms, hunter
safety, and bow and arrow. The persons so appointed shall give the
course of instruction and upon the successful completion shall
issue to the person instructed a certificate of competency in the safe
handling of firearms, hunter safety, and bow and arrow. No charge shall
be made for any course of instruction except for materials or ammunition
consumed. The Department of Natural Resources shall
furnish information on
the requirements of hunter safety education programs to be distributed
free of charge to applicants for hunting licenses by the persons
appointed and authorized to issue licenses. Funds for the conducting of
firearms and hunter safety courses shall be taken from the fee charged
for the Firearm Owners Identification Card.
The fee for a hunting license to hunt all species for a resident of
Illinois is $12. For residents age 65 or older, and, commencing with the 2012 license year, resident veterans of the United States Armed Forces after returning from service abroad or mobilization by the President of the United States as an active duty member of the United States Armed Forces, the Illinois National Guard, or the Reserves of the United States Armed Forces, the fee is one-half of the
fee charged for a hunting license to hunt all species for a resident of
Illinois. Veterans must provide to the Department acceptable verification of their service. The Department shall establish by administrative rule the procedure by which such verification of service shall be made to the Department for the purpose of issuing resident veterans hunting
licenses at a reduced fee. The fee for a hunting license to hunt all species shall be $1 for residents over 75 years of age. Nonresidents shall be charged $57 for a hunting license.
Nonresidents may be issued a nonresident hunting license for a
period not to exceed 10 consecutive days' hunting in the State and shall
be charged a fee of $35.
A special nonresident hunting license authorizing a nonresident to
take game birds by hunting on a game breeding and hunting preserve
area only, established under Section 3.27, shall be issued upon proper
application being made and payment of a fee equal to that for a resident
hunting license. The expiration date of this license shall be on the same
date each year that game breeding and hunting preserve
area licenses expire.
Each applicant for a State Migratory Waterfowl Stamp, regardless of
his residence or other condition, shall pay a fee of $15 and
shall receive a stamp. The fee for a State Migratory Waterfowl Stamp shall be waived for residents over 75 years of age. Except as provided under
Section 20-45 of the Fish and Aquatic Life Code,
the stamp shall be signed by the person or affixed to his license
or permit in a space designated by the Department for that purpose.
Each applicant for a State Habitat Stamp, regardless of his residence
or other condition, shall pay a fee of $5 and shall receive a
stamp. The fee for a State Habitat Stamp shall be waived for residents over 75 years of age. Except as provided under Section 20-45 of the Fish and Aquatic Life
Code, the stamp shall be signed by the person or affixed to his license or
permit in a space designated by the Department for that purpose.
Nothing in this Section shall be construed as to require the purchase
of more than one State Habitat Stamp by any person in any one license year.
The fees for State Pheasant Stamps and State Furbearer Stamps shall be waived for residents over 75 years of age.
The Department shall furnish the holders of hunting licenses and stamps
with an insignia as evidence of possession of license, or license and
stamp, as the Department may consider advisable. The insignia shall be
exhibited and used as the Department may order.
All other hunting licenses and all State stamps shall expire upon
March 31 of each year.
Every person holding any license, permit, or stamp issued under the
provisions of this Act shall have it in his possession for immediate
presentation for inspection to the officers and authorized employees of
the Department, any sheriff, deputy sheriff, or any other peace officer making
a demand for it. This provision shall not apply to Department owned or
managed sites where it is required that all hunters deposit their license,
permit, or Firearm Owner's Identification Card at the check station upon
entering the hunting areas.
For the purposes of this Section, "acceptable verification" means official documentation from the Department of Defense or the appropriate Major Command showing mobilization dates or service abroad dates, including: (i) a DD-214, (ii) a letter from the Illinois Department of Military Affairs for members of the Illinois National Guard, (iii) a letter from the Regional Reserve Command for members of the Armed Forces Reserve, (iv) a letter from the Major Command covering Illinois for active duty members, (v) personnel records for mobilized State employees, and (vi) any other documentation that the Department, by administrative rule, deems acceptable to establish dates of mobilization or service abroad.
For the purposes of this Section, the term "service abroad" means active duty service outside of the 50 United States and the District of Columbia, and includes all active duty service in territories and possessions of the United States.
(Source: P.A. 101-81, eff. 7-12-19; 102-780, eff. 5-13-22.)