Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

515 ILCS 5/10-95

    (515 ILCS 5/10-95) (from Ch. 56, par. 10-95)
    Sec. 10-95. Number of hooks; untagged devices. Any individual possessing a valid sport fishing license may take aquatic life by hand, or may use pole and line, bank pole and line, throw line, trotline, buoyed ganging devices, or other legal devices not exceeding 50 hooks in the aggregate, however, any individual at any one time is allowed to use under his or her immediate control only 2 untagged sport fishing devices and any additional devices up to the aggregate of 50 hooks must be tagged with his or her name and mailing address. It shall be unlawful to sell or barter any aquatic life or parts thereof taken by sport fishing devices.
    A dip net for non-commercial smelt fishing in Lake Michigan may be used subject to the provisions of Section 10-40.
    Any sport fishing device, including trot line device, bank pole, and throw line or buoyed ganging devices, left unattended must be tagged with the name and mailing address of the operator. All required tags shall be in a position to be at all times exposed to public view.
    A sport fishing license permits the holder to seine for minnows, provided that minnows are not sold. The seine shall not be longer than 20 feet, deeper than 6 feet, or contain mesh larger than 1/2 inch bar measurement.
(Source: P.A. 89-66, eff. 1-1-96.)