Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(510 ILCS 72/35)
Technician certification; duties.
(a) An applicant for certification as a euthanasia technician shall file an
application with the Department and shall:
(1) Be 18 years of age.
(2) Be of good moral character. In determining moral
character under this Section, the Department may take into consideration whether the applicant has engaged in conduct or activities that would constitute grounds for discipline under this Act.
(3) Each applicant for certification as a euthanasia
technician shall have his or her fingerprints submitted to the Department of State Police in an electronic format that complies with the form and manner for requesting and furnishing criminal history record information as prescribed by the Department of State Police. These fingerprints shall be checked against the Department of State Police and Federal Bureau of Investigation criminal history record databases now and hereafter filed. The Department of State Police shall charge applicants a fee for conducting the criminal history records check, which shall be deposited in the State Police Services Fund and shall not exceed the actual cost of the records check. The Department of State Police shall furnish, pursuant to positive identification, records of Illinois convictions to the Department.
(4) Hold a license or certification from the American
Humane Association, the National Animal Control Association, the Illinois Federation of Humane Societies, or the Humane Society of the United States issued within 3 years preceding the date of application. Every 5 years a certified euthanasia technician must renew his or her certification with the Department. At the time of renewal, the technician must present proof that he or she attended a class or seminar, administered by the American Humane Association, the National Animal Control Association, the Illinois Federation of Humane Societies, or the Humane Society of the United States, that teaches techniques or guidelines, or both, for humane animal euthanasia.
(5) Pay the required fee.
(b) The duties of a euthanasia technician shall include but are not limited
(1) preparing animals for euthanasia and scanning
each animal, prior to euthanasia, for microchips;
(2) accurately recording the dosages administered and
the amount of drugs wasted;
(3) ordering supplies;
(4) maintaining the security of all controlled
(5) humanely euthanizing animals via intravenous
injection by hypodermic needle, intraperitoneal injection by hypodermic needle, or intracardiac injection only on comatose animals by hypodermic needle; and
(6) properly disposing of euthanized animals after
(c) A euthanasia technician employed by a euthanasia agency may perform
euthanasia by the administration of a Schedule II
or Schedule III nonnarcotic controlled
substance. A euthanasia
technician may not personally possess, order, or administer a controlled
substance except as an agent of the euthanasia agency.
(d) Upon termination from a euthanasia agency, a euthanasia technician shall
animal euthanasia until he or she is employed by another certified euthanasia
(e) A certified euthanasia technician or an instructor in an approved course
does not engage in the practice of
medicine when performing duties set forth in this Act.
(Source: P.A. 96-780, eff. 8-28-09.)