Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
510 ILCS 72/100
(510 ILCS 72/100)
Investigations; notice and hearing.
(a) The Department may investigate the actions of an applicant or an animal
or animal control facility holding or claiming to hold a certificate.
(b) Before refusing to issue or renew a certificate or disciplining
a certified euthanasia agency or technician,
the Department shall notify in writing the applicant, the agency, or
technician of the nature of the charges and that a hearing will be held on the
date designated, which shall be at least 30 days
the date of the notice.
The Department shall direct the applicant, agency, or technician
file a written answer to the Department under oath within 20 days after the
the notice and inform the applicant, agency, or technician that failure to file
an answer will result
default being taken against the applicant, agency, or technician and that the
certificate may be suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status, or other
disciplinary action may be taken, including limiting the scope, nature, or
business as the Director may deem proper. Written notice may be served by
personal delivery or certified or registered mail sent to the respondent at the
most recent address on record with the Department.
If the applicant, agency,
or technician fails to file
answer after receiving notice, the certification may, in the
the Department, be suspended, revoked, or placed on probationary status, or the
Department may take whatever disciplinary action it deems proper including
imposing a civil penalty, without a hearing if the act or acts charged
ground for such action under this Act.
At the time and place fixed in the
the Department shall proceed to hear the charges, and the parties or their
be accorded ample opportunity to present such statements, testimony, evidence,
and argument as may be pertinent to the charges or to their defense. The
may continue a hearing from time to time.
(Source: P.A. 92-449, eff. 1-1-02.)