Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(430 ILCS 66/40)
Non-resident license applications.
(a) For the purposes of this Section, "non-resident" means a person who has not resided within this State for more than 30 days and resides in another state or territory.
(b) The Illinois State Police shall by rule allow for non-resident license applications from any state or territory of the United States with laws related to firearm ownership, possession, and carrying, that are substantially similar to the requirements to obtain a license under this Act.
(c) A resident of a state or territory approved by the Illinois State Police under subsection (b) of this Section may apply for a non-resident license. The applicant shall apply to the Illinois State Police and must meet all of the qualifications established in Section 25 of this Act, except for the Illinois residency requirement in item (xiv) of paragraph (2) of subsection (a) of Section 4 of the Firearm Owners Identification Card Act. The applicant shall submit:
(1) the application and documentation required under
Section 30 of this Act and the applicable fee;
(2) a notarized document stating that the applicant:
(A) is eligible under federal law and the laws of
his or her state or territory of residence to own or possess a firearm;
(B) if applicable, has a license or permit to
carry a firearm or concealed firearm issued by his or her state or territory of residence and attach a copy of the license or permit to the application;
(C) understands Illinois laws pertaining to the
possession and transport of firearms; and
(D) acknowledges that the applicant is subject to
the jurisdiction of the Illinois State Police and Illinois courts for any violation of this Act;
(3) a photocopy of any certificates or other evidence
of compliance with the training requirements under Section 75 of this Act; and
(4) a head and shoulder color photograph in a size
specified by the Illinois State Police taken within the 30 days preceding the date of the application.
(d) In lieu of an Illinois driver's license or Illinois identification card, a non-resident applicant shall provide similar documentation from his or her state or territory of residence. In lieu of a valid Firearm Owner's Identification Card, the applicant shall submit documentation and information required by the Illinois State Police to obtain a Firearm Owner's Identification Card, including an affidavit that the non-resident meets the mental health standards to obtain a firearm under Illinois law, and the Illinois State Police shall ensure that the applicant would meet the eligibility criteria to obtain a Firearm Owner's Identification card if he or she was a resident of this State.
(e) Nothing in this Act shall prohibit a non-resident from transporting a concealed firearm within his or her vehicle in Illinois, if the concealed firearm remains within his or her vehicle and the non-resident:
(1) is not prohibited from owning or possessing a
firearm under federal law;
(2) is eligible to carry a firearm in public under
the laws of his or her state or territory of residence, as evidenced by the possession of a concealed carry license or permit issued by his or her state of residence, if applicable; and
(3) is not in possession of a license under this Act.
If the non-resident leaves his or her vehicle unattended, he or she shall store the firearm within a locked vehicle or locked container within the vehicle in accordance with subsection (b) of Section 65 of this Act.
(Source: P.A. 102-538, eff. 8-20-21.)