Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

410 ILCS 46/27

    (410 ILCS 46/27)
    Sec. 27. Sale and distribution of certain mercury-added products prohibited.
    (a) No person shall sell, offer to sell, or distribute the following mercury-added products in this State:
        (1) barometers;
        (2) esophageal dilators, bougie tubes, or
gastrointestinal tubes;
        (3) flow meters;
        (4) hydrometers;
        (5) hygrometers;
        (6) manometers;
        (7) pyrometers;
        (8) sphygmomanometers;
        (9) thermometers;
        (10) psychrometers;
        (11) pressure transducers;
        (12) rings;
        (13) seals;
        (14) sensors; or
        (15) zinc air button cell batteries.
    (b) This Section does not apply to the sale of a mercury-added product listed in paragraphs (1) through (15) of subsection (a) if use of the product is a federal requirement or if the only mercury-added component in the product is a button cell battery, other than a zinc air button cell battery.
    (c) This Section does not apply to the sale of a mercury-added product listed in paragraphs (1) through (15) of subsection (a) for which an exemption is obtained under this subsection (c). The manufacturer of the product may apply for an exemption for one or more uses of the product by filing a written petition with the Agency. The Agency may grant an exemption, with or without conditions, if the manufacturer demonstrates the following:
        (1) a system exists for the proper collection,
transportation, and processing of the product at the end of its useful life; and
        (2) one of the following applies:
            (i) use of the product provides a net benefit to
the environment, public health, or public safety when compared to available nonmercury alternatives; or
            (ii) technically feasible nonmercury alternatives
are not available at comparable cost.
    Before approving an exemption, the Agency may consult with other states to promote consistency in the regulation of the product for which the exemption is requested. The Agency may also publish notice of its receipt of petitions for exemptions on its website and consider public comments submitted in response to the petitions. Exemptions shall be granted for a term of 5 years and may be renewed for additional 5-year terms upon written application by the manufacturer if the manufacturer demonstrates that the criteria of this subsection (c) and the conditions of the product's original exemption approval continue to be met. All petitions for exemptions and exemption renewals shall be submitted on forms prescribed by the Agency.
(Source: P.A. 97-459, eff. 7-1-12; 97-1107, eff. 7-1-13.)