Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
410 ILCS 18/62.10
(410 ILCS 18/62.10)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
Investigations; notice and hearing.
The Comptroller may at any time investigate the actions of any applicant or of any person, persons, or entity rendering or offering to render cremation services or any person or entity holding or claiming to hold a license as a licensed crematory. The Comptroller shall, before revoking, suspending, placing on probation, reprimanding, or taking any other disciplinary action under Section 11 of this Act, at least 30 days before the date set for the hearing, (i) notify the accused in writing of the charges made and the time and place for the hearing on the charges, (ii) direct the accused applicant or licensee to file a written answer to the charges with the Comptroller under oath within 20 days after the service on him or her of the notice, and (iii) inform the accused that, if he or she fails to answer, default will be taken against him or her or that his or her license may be suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status, or other disciplinary action taken with regard to the license, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of his or her practice, as the Comptroller may consider proper.
At the time and place fixed in the notice, the Comptroller shall proceed to hear the charges and the parties or their counsel shall be accorded ample opportunity to present any pertinent statements, testimony, evidence, and arguments. The Comptroller shall have the authority to appoint an attorney duly licensed to practice law in the State of Illinois to serve as the hearing officer in any disciplinary action with regard to a license. The hearing officer shall have full authority to conduct the hearing. The Comptroller may continue the hearing from time to time. In case the person, after receiving the notice, fails to file an answer, his or her license may, in the discretion of the Comptroller, be suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status, or the Comptroller may take whatever disciplinary action considered proper, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice or the imposition of a fine, without a hearing, if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient grounds for that action under this Act. The written notice may be served by personal delivery or by certified mail to the address specified by the accused in his or her last notification with the Comptroller.
(Source: P.A. 96-863, eff. 3-1-12; 97-679, eff. 2-6-12