Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

410 ILCS 18/11

    (410 ILCS 18/11)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
    Sec. 11. Grounds for denial or discipline.
    (a) In this Section, "applicant" means a person who has applied for a license under this Act including those persons whose names are listed on a license application in Section 10 of this Act.
    (b) The Comptroller may refuse to issue a license, place on probation, reprimand, or take other disciplinary action that the Comptroller may deem appropriate, including imposing fines not to exceed $5,000 for each violation, with regard to any license under this Act, or may suspend or revoke a license issued under this Act, on any of the following grounds:
        (1) The applicant or licensee has made any
    
misrepresentation or false statement or concealed any material fact in furnishing information to the Comptroller.
        (2) The applicant or licensee has been engaged in
    
business practices that work a fraud.
        (3) The applicant or licensee has refused to give
    
information required under this Act to be disclosed to the Comptroller or failing, within 30 days, to provide information in response to a written request made by the Comptroller.
        (4) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
    
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public.
        (5) As to any individual listed in the license
    
application as required under Section 10, that individual has conducted or is about to conduct any cremation business on behalf of the applicant in a fraudulent manner or has been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor an essential element of which is fraud.
        (6) The applicant or licensee has failed to make the
    
annual report required by this Act or to comply with a final order, decision, or finding of the Comptroller made under this Act.
        (7) The applicant or licensee, including any member,
    
officer, or director of the applicant or licensee if the applicant or licensee is a firm, partnership, association, or corporation and including any shareholder holding more than 25% of the corporate stock of the applicant or licensee, has violated any provision of this Act or any regulation or order made by the Comptroller under this Act.
        (8) The Comptroller finds any fact or condition
    
existing that, if it had existed at the time of the original application for a license under this Act, would have warranted the Comptroller in refusing the issuance of the license.
        (9) Any violation of this Act or of the rules adopted
    
under this Act.
        (10) Incompetence.
        (11) Gross malpractice.
        (12) Discipline by another state, District of
    
Columbia, territory, or foreign nation, if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Section.
        (13) Directly or indirectly giving to or receiving
    
from any person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association any fee, commission, rebate, or other form of compensation for professional services not actually or personally rendered.
        (14) A finding by the Comptroller that the licensee,
    
after having its license placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation.
        (15) Willfully making or filing false records or
    
reports, including, but not limited to, false records filed with State agencies or departments.
        (16) Gross, willful, or continued overcharging for
    
professional services, including filing false statements for collection of fees for which services are not rendered.
        (17) Practicing under a false or, except as provided
    
by law, an assumed name.
        (18) Cheating on or attempting to subvert this Act's
    
licensing application process.
(Source: P.A. 96-863, eff. 3-1-12; 97-679, eff. 2-6-12.)