Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

310 ILCS 60/4

    (310 ILCS 60/4) (from Ch. 67 1/2, par. 1154)
    Sec. 4. Notice of intent to sell.     (a) An owner may not sell or otherwise dispose of assisted housing, complete prepayment, or complete a termination unless, not less than 12 months before the prepayment, termination, sale, or disposal, the owner submits to all tenants of the assisted housing and to all affected public entities a notice of intent to complete prepayment, complete termination, sell, or otherwise dispose of the property.
    (a-5) Every notice required under subsection (a) must include the address of the assisted housing, characteristics of the property including the number of units, and the names and addresses of the owners. The notice must also include the date on which the owner intends to sell, lease, complete prepayment, complete termination, or otherwise dispose of the property, as well as a detailed list of affordability restrictions applicable to the property. IHDA shall adopt rules concerning the content, format, delivery, and publication of such notices.
    (b) Within 60 days after the date of the owner's notice pursuant to subsection (a), the tenants may notify the owner that they have formed a Tenant Association meeting the requirements of this Act and shall designate the name of its representative or representatives in the notice. The Tenant Association may enter into an agreement with a not-for-profit corporation or private purchaser in which the not-for-profit corporation or private purchaser agrees to represent the residents and maintain the development in a manner that preserves the housing development's existing affordability restrictions or that would qualify the housing development as affordable housing as defined in the Illinois Affordable Housing Act. The agreement must set forth the minimum length of time that the affordability restrictions will be in effect. The Tenant Association and individual tenants in the assisted housing shall each have the right to bring an action for specific performance or other injunctive relief for enforcement of the agreement, and the agreement must contain provisions to this effect along with such other remedies for breach as the Tenant Association and the not-for-profit corporation or private purchaser may agree. Once such an agreement is entered into, the not-for-profit corporation or private purchaser shall assume all rights and responsibilities attributed to the Tenant Association under this Act.
(Source: P.A. 93-727, eff. 7-14-04.)