Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 510/14
(225 ILCS 510/14)
(from Ch. 111, par. 964)
(a) The Department, by rule, shall
establish minimum standards for the operation of nurse agencies. Those
standards shall include, but are not limited to:
(1) the maintenance of written policies and
(2) the maintenance and submission to the
Department of copies of all contracts between the nurse agency and health care facility to which it assigns or refers nurses or certified nurse aides and copies of all invoices to health care facilities personnel. Executed contracts must be sent to the Department within 5 business days of their effective date; and
(3) the development of personnel policies for nurses
or certified nurse aides employed, assigned, or referred to health care facilities, including a personal interview, a reference check, an annual evaluation of each employee (which may be based in part upon information provided by health care facilities utilizing nurse agency personnel) and periodic health examinations. Executed contracts must be sent to the Department within 5 business days of their effective date and are not subject to disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act. No less than 100% of the nurse or certified nurse aide hourly rate shall be paid to the nurse or certified nurse aide employee.
(b) Each nurse agency shall have a nurse serving as a manager or
supervisor of all nurses and certified nurses aides.
(c) Each nurse agency shall
ensure that its employees meet the minimum
licensing, training, continuing education, and orientation standards for
which those employees
are licensed or certified.
(d) A nurse agency shall not employ, assign, or refer for use in an Illinois
health care facility a nurse or certified nurse aide unless certified or
licensed under applicable provisions of State and federal law or regulations.
Each certified nurse aide shall comply with all pertinent
regulations of the Illinois Department of Public Health relating to the
health and other qualifications of personnel employed in health care facilities.
(e) The Department may adopt rules to monitor the usage of nurse agency services to
determine their impact.
(f) Nurse agencies are prohibited from recruiting potential employees on the premises of a health care facility or requiring, as a condition of
employment, assignment, or referral, that their employees
recruit new employees for the nurse agency from
among the permanent employees of the health care facility to which the
nurse agency employees have been employed,
assigned, or referred,
and the health care facility to which such employees are employed, assigned,
or referred is prohibited from requiring, as a condition of employment,
that their employees recruit new employees from these nurse agency
employees. Violation of this provision is a business offense.
(g) Nurse agencies are prohibited from entering into covenants not to compete with nurses and certified nurse aides. A covenant not to compete entered into on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 102nd General Assembly between a nurse agency and a nurse or certified nurse aide is illegal and void. The nursing agency shall not, in any contract with any employee or health care facility, require the payment of liquidated damages, conversion fees, employment fees, buy-out fees, placement fees, or other compensation if the employee is hired as a permanent employee of a health care facility.
(h) A nurse agency shall submit a report quarterly to the Department for each health care entity with whom the agency contracts that includes all of the following by provider type and county in which the work was performed:
(1) A list of the average amount charged to the
health care facility for each individual employee category.
(2) A list of the average amount paid by the agency
to employees in each individual employee category.
(3) A list of the average amount of labor-related
costs paid by the agency for each employee category, including payroll taxes, workers' compensation insurance, professional liability coverage, credentialing and testing, and other employee related costs.
The Department shall publish by county in which the work was performed the average amount charged to the health care facilities by nurse agencies for each individual worker category and the average amount paid by the agency to each individual worker category.
(i) The Department shall publish on its website the reports yearly by county.
(j) The Department of Labor shall compel production of the maintained records, as required under this Section, by the nurse agencies.
(Source: P.A. 102-946, eff. 7-1-22.)