Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 454/5-50
(225 ILCS 454/5-50)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2030)
Expiration and renewal of managing broker, broker, or residential
leasing agent license; sponsoring broker;
register of licensees.
(a) The expiration date and renewal period for each license issued under
this Act shall be set by
rule. Except as otherwise provided in this Section, the holder of
license may renew
the license within 90 days preceding the expiration date thereof by completing the continuing education required by this Act and paying the
fees specified by
(b) An individual whose first license is that of a broker received on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 101st General Assembly, must provide evidence of having completed 45 hours of post-license education presented in a classroom or a live, interactive webinar, or online distance education course, and which shall require passage of a final examination.
The Board may recommend, and the Department shall approve, 45 hours of post-license education, consisting of three 15-hour post-license courses, one each that covers applied brokerage principles, risk management/discipline, and transactional issues. Each of the courses shall require its own 50-question final examination, which shall be administered by the education provider that delivers the course.
Individuals whose first license is that of a broker received on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 101st General Assembly, must complete all three 15-hour courses and successfully pass a course final examination for each course prior to the date of the next broker renewal deadline, except for those individuals who receive their first license within the 180 days preceding the next broker renewal deadline, who must complete all three 15-hour courses and successfully pass a course final examination for each course prior to the second broker renewal deadline that follows the receipt of their license.
(c) Any managing broker, broker, or residential leasing agent whose license under this Act has expired shall be eligible to renew the license during the 2-year period following the expiration date, provided the managing broker, broker, or residential leasing agent pays the fees as prescribed by rule and completes continuing education and other requirements provided for by the Act or by rule. A managing broker, broker, or residential leasing agent whose license has been expired for more than 2 years but less than 5 years may have it restored by (i) applying to the Department, (ii) paying the required fee, (iii) completing the continuing education requirements for the most recent term of licensure that ended prior to the date of the application for reinstatement, and (iv) filing acceptable proof of fitness to have the license restored, as set by rule. A managing broker, broker, or residential leasing agent whose license has been expired for more than 5 years shall be required to meet the requirements for a new license.
(d) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this Act to the contrary, any managing broker, broker, or residential leasing agent whose license expired while the licensee was (i) on active duty with the Armed Forces of the United States or called into service or training by the state militia, (ii) engaged in training or education under the supervision of the United States preliminary to induction into military service, or (iii) serving as the Coordinator of Real Estate in the State of Illinois or as an employee of the Department may have the license renewed, reinstated or restored without paying any lapsed renewal fees if within 2 years after the termination of the service, training or education by furnishing the Department with satisfactory evidence of service, training, or education and it has been terminated under honorable conditions.
(e) Each licensee shall carry on one's person the license or an electronic version thereof.
(f) The Department shall provide to the sponsoring broker a notice of renewal for all sponsored licensees by mailing the notice to the sponsoring broker's address of record, or, at the Department's discretion, emailing the notice to the sponsoring broker's email address of record.
(g) Upon request from the sponsoring broker, the Department shall make available to the sponsoring broker, by electronic means at the discretion of the Department, a listing of licensees under this Act who, according to the records of the Department, are sponsored by that broker. Every licensee associated with or employed by a broker whose license is revoked, suspended, or expired shall be considered inactive until such time as the sponsoring broker's license is reinstated or renewed, or a new valid sponsorship is registered with the Department as set forth in subsection (b) of Section 5-40 of this Act.
(h) The Department shall not renew a license if the licensee has an unpaid fine or fee from a disciplinary matter from a non-disciplinary action imposed by the Department until the fine or fee is paid to the Department or the licensee has entered into a payment plan and is current on the required payments.
(i) The Department shall not issue a license if the applicant has an unpaid fine imposed by the Department for unlicensed practice until the fine is paid to the Department or the applicant has entered into a payment plan and is current on the required payments.
(Source: P.A. 101-357, eff. 8-9-19; 102-970, eff. 5-27-22.)