Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 450/9

    (225 ILCS 450/9) (from Ch. 111, par. 5510)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2029)
    Sec. 9. Unlicensed practice; violation; civil penalty.
    (a) Offering, attempting, or holding oneself out to practice as a licensed CPA or a registered CPA in this State without being licensed or registered under this Act or qualifying for the practice privilege set forth in Section 5.2 of this Act is prohibited.
    (b) The use of the title "certified public accountant", "Licensed Certified Public Accountant", "Registered Certified Public Accountant", "public accountant", or abbreviation "C.P.A." or any similar terms that may be misleading to the public indicating that an individual or the members of a firm are licensed or registered CPAs is prohibited unless (1) the individual or members are holders of an effective unrevoked license or registration or qualify for the practice privilege under Section 5.2 of this Act and (2) the firm is licensed as a CPA firm by the Department and is performing accounting activities as outlined in Section 8.05.
    (c) In addition to any other penalty provided by law, any individual or person violating subsection (a) or (b) of this Section shall pay a civil penalty to the Department in an amount not to exceed $10,000 for each offense as determined by the Department. The civil penalty shall be assessed by the Department after a hearing is held in accordance with the provisions set forth in this Act regarding the provision of a hearing for the discipline of a licensee.
    (d) The Department has the authority and power to investigate any and all alleged improper use of the certified public accountant title or CPA designation and any unlicensed activity.
    (e) The civil penalty shall be paid within 60 days after the effective date of the order imposing the civil penalty. The order shall constitute a judgment and may be filed and execution had thereon in the same manner as any judgment from any court of record.
(Source: P.A. 98-254, eff. 8-9-13.)