Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(225 ILCS 447/10-5)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
Requirement of license.
(a) It is unlawful for a person to act as or provide the functions of a
private detective, private security contractor, private alarm contractor, fingerprint vendor, or
locksmith or to advertise or to assume to act as any one of these, or to use
these or any other title implying that the person is engaged in any of these
activities unless licensed as such by the Department. An individual or sole
proprietor who does not employ any employees other than himself or herself may
operate under a "doing business as" or assumed name certification without
having to obtain an agency license, so long as the assumed name is first
registered with the Department.
(b) It is unlawful for a person, firm, corporation, or other legal entity
to act as an agency licensed under this Act, to advertise, or to assume to
act as a licensed agency or to use a title implying that the person, firm, or
other entity is engaged in the practice as a private detective agency, private
security contractor agency, private alarm contractor agency, fingerprint vendor agency, or locksmith
agency unless licensed by the Department.
(c) No agency shall operate a branch office without first applying for and
receiving a branch office license for each location.
(d) Beginning 12 months after the adoption of rules providing for the licensure of fingerprint vendors under this Act, it is unlawful for a person to operate live scan fingerprint equipment or other equipment designed to obtain fingerprint images for the purpose of providing fingerprint images and associated demographic data to the Illinois State Police, unless he or she has successfully completed a fingerprint training course conducted or authorized by the Illinois State Police and is licensed as a fingerprint vendor.
(e) Beginning 12 months after the adoption of rules providing for the licensure of canine handlers and canine trainers under this Act, no person shall operate a canine training facility unless licensed as a private detective
agency or private security contractor agency under this Act, and no person shall act as a canine trainer unless he or she is licensed as a private detective or private security contractor or is a registered employee of a private detective agency or private security contractor agency approved by the Department.
(Source: P.A. 102-538, eff. 8-20-21.)