Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 430/17
(225 ILCS 430/17)
(from Ch. 111, par. 2418)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
Investigations; notice and hearing.
The Department may investigate the actions of any applicant or any
persons rendering or offering to render detection of deception services or any person holding or claiming to hold a license as a licensed examiner. The Department shall, before
refusing to issue or renew a license or to discipline a licensee under Section 14, at
least 30 days prior to the date set for the hearing, (i) notify the accused in
writing of the charges made and the time and place for the hearing on the charges, (ii) direct him or her to file a written answer with the
oath within 20 days after the service of the notice, and (iii) inform the applicant
or licensee that failure to file an answer will result in default being
taken against the applicant or licensee. At the time and place fixed in the notice, the Department shall proceed to hear the charges and the parties or their counsel shall be accorded ample opportunity to present any pertinent statements, testimony, evidence, and arguments. The Department may continue the hearing from time to time. In case the person, after receiving the notice, fails to file an answer, his or her license, may, in the discretion of the Department, be revoked, suspended, placed on probationary status, or the Department may take whatever disciplinary action considered proper, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice or the imposition of a fine, without a hearing, if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient grounds for that action under the Act. The written notice may be served by email, by personal delivery, or by mail to the accused's address of record.
(Source: P.A. 102-20, eff. 1-1-22