Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 427/70

    (225 ILCS 427/70)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 102-20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 70. Penalty for insufficient funds; payments. Any person who delivers a check or other payment to the Department that is returned to the Department unpaid by the financial institution upon which it is drawn shall pay to the Department, in addition to the amount already owed to the Department, a fine of $50. The Department shall notify the person that payment of fees and fines shall be paid to the Department by certified check or money order within 30 calendar days after notification. If, after the expiration of 30 days from the date of the notification, the person has failed to submit the necessary remittance, the Department shall automatically terminate the license or deny the application, without hearing. If, after termination or denial, the person seeks a license, he, she, or it shall apply to the Department for restoration or issuance of the license and pay all fees and fines due to the Department. The Department may establish a fee for the processing of an application for restoration of a license to pay all expenses of processing this application. The Secretary may waive the fines due under this Section in individual cases where the Secretary finds that the fines would be unreasonable or unnecessarily burdensome.
(Source: P.A. 98-365, eff. 1-1-14.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 102-20)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 70. Penalty for insufficient funds; payments. Any person who:
        (1) delivers a check or other payment to the
    
Department that is returned to the Department unpaid by the financial institution upon which it is drawn; or
        (2) presents a credit or debit card for payment that
    
is invalid or expired or against which charges by the Department are declined or dishonored;
shall pay to the Department, in addition to the amount already owed to the Department, a fine of $50. The Department shall notify the person that payment of fees and fines shall be paid to the Department by certified check or money order within 30 calendar days after notification. If, after the expiration of 30 days from the date of the notification, the person has failed to submit the necessary remittance, the Department shall automatically terminate the license or deny the application, without hearing. After termination or denial, the person seeking a license shall apply to the Department for restoration or issuance of the license and pay all fees and fines due to the Department. The Department may establish a fee for the processing of an application for restoration of a license to pay all expenses of processing this application. The Secretary may waive the fines due under this Section in individual cases where the Secretary finds that the fines would be unreasonable or unnecessarily burdensome.
(Source: P.A. 102-20, eff. 1-1-22.)