Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 425/8c

    (225 ILCS 425/8c) (from Ch. 111, par. 2011c)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 8c. (a) Each licensed collection agency shall at all times maintain a separate bank account in which all monies received on debts shall be deposited, referred to as a "Trust Account", except that negotiable instruments received may be forwarded directly to a creditor if such procedure is provided for by a writing executed by the creditor. Monies received shall be so deposited within 5 business days after posting to the agency's books of account.
    There shall be sufficient funds in the trust account at all times to pay the creditors the amount due them.
    (b) The trust account shall be established in a bank, savings and loan association, or other recognized depository which is federally or State insured or otherwise secured as defined by rule. Such account may be interest bearing. The licensee shall pay to the creditor interest earned on funds on deposit after the sixtieth day.
    (c) Notwithstanding any contractual arrangement, every client of a licensee shall within 60 days after the close of each calendar month, account and pay to the licensee collection agency all sums owed to the collection agency for payments received by the client during that calendar month on debts in possession of the collection agency. If a client fails to pay the licensee any sum due under this Section, the licensee shall, in addition to other remedies provided by law, have the right to offset any money due the licensee under this Section against any moneys due the client.
    (d) Each collection agency shall keep on file the name of the bank, savings and loan association, or other recognized depository in which each trust account is maintained, the name of each trust account, and the names of the persons authorized to withdraw funds from each account.
    The collection agency, within 30 days of the time of a change of depository or person authorized to make withdrawal, shall update its files to reflect such change.
    An examination and audit of an agency's trust accounts may be made by the Department as the Department deems appropriate.
(Source: P.A. 99-227, eff. 8-3-15; 100-132, eff. 8-18-17.)