Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 425/30

    (225 ILCS 425/30)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 102-975)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 30. Expiration, renewal, and restoration of license. The expiration date and renewal period for each license shall be set by rule. A collection agency whose license has expired may restore its license at any time within 5 years after the expiration thereof, by making a renewal application and by paying the required fee.
    However, any licensed collection agency whose license has expired while the individual licensed or while a shareholder, partner, or member owning 50% or more of the interest in the collection agency whose license has expired while he or she was (i) on active duty with the Armed Forces of the United States or called into service or training by the State militia; or (ii) in training or education under the supervision of the United States preliminary to induction into the military service, may have his or her license renewed or restored without paying any lapsed renewal fee or restoration fee if, within 2 years after termination of the service, training, or education, he or she furnishes the Department with satisfactory evidence of service, training, or education and it has been terminated under honorable conditions.
    Any collection agency whose license has expired for more than 5 years may have it restored by applying to the Department, paying the required fee, and filing acceptable proof of fitness to have the license restored as set by rule.
(Source: P.A. 99-227, eff. 8-3-15; 100-132, eff. 8-18-17.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 102-975)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 30. Expiration, renewal, and restoration of license. The expiration date and renewal period for each license shall be set by rule. A collection agency whose license has expired may restore its license at any time within one year after the expiration thereof by making a renewal application and by paying the required fee.
    However, any licensed collection agency whose license has expired while the licensed person or a shareholder, partner, or member owning 50% or more of the interest in the collection agency was (i) on active duty with the Armed Forces of the United States or called into service or training by the State militia; or (ii) in training or education under the supervision of the United States preliminary to induction into the military service, may have his or her license renewed or restored without paying any lapsed renewal fee or restoration fee if, within 2 years after termination of the service, training, or education, he or she furnishes the Department with satisfactory evidence of service, training, or education and it has been terminated under honorable conditions.
    Any collection agency whose license has expired for more than one year may have it restored by applying to the Department, paying the required fee, and filing acceptable proof of fitness to have the license restored as set by rule.
(Source: P.A. 102-975, eff. 1-1-23.)