Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 425/16

    (225 ILCS 425/16)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 102-975)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 16. Investigation; notice and hearing. The Department may investigate the actions or qualifications of any applicant or of any person rendering or offering to render collection agency services or any person holding or claiming to hold a license as a collection agency. The Department shall, before refusing to issue or renew, revoking, suspending, placing on probation, reprimanding, or taking any other disciplinary action under Section 9 of this Act, at least 30 days before the date set for the hearing, (i) notify the accused in writing of the charges made and the time and place for the hearing on the charges, (ii) direct him or her to file his or her written answer to the charges with the Department under oath within 20 days after the service on him or her of the notice, and (iii) inform the accused that if he or she fails to file an answer default will be taken against him or her or his or her license may be suspended, revoked, or placed on probation, or other disciplinary action may be taken with regard to the license, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of his or her practice, as the Department may consider proper. At the time and place fixed in the notice, the Department shall proceed to hear the charges. The parties or their counsel shall be accorded ample opportunity to present any pertinent statements, testimony, evidence, and arguments. The Department may continue the hearing from time to time. Nothing in this Section shall be construed to require that a hearing be commenced and completed in one day. At the discretion of the Secretary, after having first received the recommendation of the Board, the accused person's license may be suspended or revoked, if the evidence constitutes sufficient grounds for such action under this Act. If the person fails to file an answer after receiving notice, his or her license may, in the discretion of the Department, be suspended, revoked, or placed on probation, or the Department may take whatever disciplinary action it considers proper, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice or the imposition of a fine, without a hearing, if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient grounds for such action under this Act. Written or electronic notice may be served by personal delivery, mail, or email to the applicant or licensee at the address of record or email address of record.
(Source: P.A. 99-227, eff. 8-3-15; 100-132, eff. 8-18-17.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 102-975)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 16. Investigation; notice and hearing. The Department may investigate the actions or qualifications of any applicant or of any person rendering or offering to render collection agency services or any person holding or claiming to hold a license as a collection agency. The Department shall, before refusing to issue or renew, revoking, suspending, placing on probation, reprimanding, or taking any other disciplinary action under Section 9 of this Act, serve notice on any person, including a statement of the reasons for the Department's action, and notify the person that they may file a Petition for a Hearing with the Department within 30 days of service. All hearings shall be conducted in accordance with 38 Ill. Adm. Code 100. At the discretion of the Secretary, after having first received the recommendation of the Board, the accused person's license may be suspended or revoked, if the evidence constitutes sufficient grounds for such action under this Act. Written or electronic notice may be served by personal delivery, mail, or email to the applicant or licensee at the address of record or email address of record. Service by mail is completed when the notice is deposited in the U.S. Mail. Service to the email address of record is completed when the email is sent.
(Source: P.A. 102-975, eff. 1-1-23.)