Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 415/23.2
(225 ILCS 415/23.2)
(from Ch. 111, par. 6225)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
Investigations; notice and hearing.
The Department may investigate
the actions of any applicant or of any person or persons holding or claiming to
hold a certificate. The Department shall, before refusing to issue or renew, or
taking disciplinary action against, a certificate, at least 30 days prior to
the date set for the hearing, notify in writing the applicant for, or holder
of, a certificate of the nature of the charges and the time and place for a hearing
on the charges. The Department shall direct the applicant or licensee
to file a written answer to the charges with the Board under oath within 20 days after the
service of the notice and inform the applicant or licensee that failure to file
an answer will result in default being taken against the applicant or licensee. At the time and place fixed in the notice, the Department shall proceed to hear the charges and the parties or their counsel shall be accorded ample opportunity to present any pertinent statements, testimony, evidence, and arguments. The Department may continue the hearing from time to time. In case the person, after receiving the notice, fails to file an answer, his or her license may, in the discretion of the Department, be revoked, suspended, or placed on probationary status or the Department may take whatever disciplinary action considered proper, including limiting the scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice or the imposition of a fine, without a hearing, if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient grounds for that action under this Act. The written notice and any notice in the subsequent proceeding may be served by registered or certified mail to the licensee's address of record.
(Source: P.A. 98-445, eff. 12-31-13.)