Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 410/4-10
(225 ILCS 410/4-10)
(from Ch. 111, par. 1704-10)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
Refusal, suspension and revocation of
licenses; investigations and hearing.
The Department may upon its own motion and shall, upon the
verified complaint in writing of any person setting forth the facts
which if proven would constitute grounds for disciplinary action as
set forth in Section 4-7, investigate the actions of any person
holding or claiming to hold a license.
The Department shall, at least 30 days prior to the date set for
the hearing, notify in writing the applicant or the holder of that license of any charges made and shall afford the accused person
an opportunity to be heard in person or by counsel in reference
thereto. The Department shall
direct the applicant or licensee to file a written answer to the Board under
oath within 20 days after the service of the notice and inform the applicant
or licensee that failure to file an answer will result in default being
taken against the applicant or licensee and that the license
suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status, or other disciplinary
action may be taken, including limiting the scope, nature or extent of
practice, as the Secretary may deem proper.
The written notice may be served by the delivery of the
notice personally to the accused person, or by mailing the notice by
registered or certified mail to the address of record.
In case the person fails to file an answer after receiving notice, his or
her license or certificate may, in the discretion of the Department be
suspended, revoked, or placed on probationary status, or the Department, may
take whatever disciplinary action deemed proper, including limiting the
scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice or the imposition of a
fine, without a hearing, if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient
grounds for such action under this Act.
At the time and place fixed in the notice, the Board
shall proceed to hearing of the
charges and the accused person shall be
accorded ample opportunity to present in person or by counsel, any
statements, testimony, evidence and arguments as may be pertinent to
the charges or their defense. The Board may continue a
hearing from time to time.
(Source: P.A. 98-911, eff. 1-1-15; 99-427, eff. 8-21-15.)