Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 410/3C-8
(225 ILCS 410/3C-8)
(from Ch. 111, par. 1703C-8)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
License renewal; expiration; continuing education;
persons in military service.
The holder of a license
issued under this Article may renew that license during the
month preceding the expiration date of the license by
paying the required fee and giving evidence, as the Department may prescribe,
of completing not
less than 10 hours of continuing education for a nail technician
and 20 hours of continuing education for a nail technology teacher, within
the 2 years prior
to renewal. The continuing education shall be in subjects approved by the
Department upon recommendation of the Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics, Hair Braiding, and
Nail Technology Board relating to the practice of nail technology,
including, but not limited to, review of sanitary procedures, review of
chemical service procedures, review of this Act, and review of the Workers'
Compensation Act. However, at least 10 of the hours of continuing education
required for a nail technology teacher
shall be in subjects relating to
teaching methodology, educational psychology, and classroom management or in
other subjects related to teaching.
For the initial renewal of a nail technician's license which requires continuing education, as prescribed by rule, one hour of the continuing education shall include domestic violence and sexual assault awareness education as prescribed by rule of the Department. For every subsequent renewal of a nail technician's license, one hour of the continuing education may include domestic violence and sexual assault awareness education as prescribed by rule of the Department. The one-hour domestic violence and sexual assault awareness continuing education course shall be provided by a continuing education provider approved by the Department, except that completion from March 12, 2016 to March 15, 2016 of a one-hour domestic violence and sexual assault awareness course from a domestic violence and sexual assault awareness organization shall satisfy this requirement.
The Department may prescribe rules regarding the requirements for domestic violence and sexual assault awareness continuing education courses and teachers.
The Department, in its discretion, may waive enforcement of the continuing
education requirement in this Section, including the domestic violence and sexual assault awareness education requirement, and shall adopt rules defining the
standards and criteria for such waiver, under the following circumstances:
(a) the licensee resides in a locality where it is
demonstrated that the absence of opportunities for such education would interfere with the ability of the licensee to provide service to the public;
(b) the licensee's compliance with the continuing
education requirements would cause a substantial financial hardship on the licensee;
(c) the licensee is serving in the United States
(d) the licensee is incapacitated due to illness.
(Source: P.A. 98-911, eff. 1-1-15; 99-427, eff. 8-21-15; 99-766, eff. 1-1-17