Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 410/3C-7
(225 ILCS 410/3C-7)
(from Ch. 111, par. 1703C-7)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
Examinations; failure or refusal to take examination.
Department shall authorize examinations of applicants for licenses as nail
technicians and teachers of nail
technology at the times and places as it may determine. An applicant for licensure as a nail technician who has completed 280 hours in the study of nail technology may take the examination.
The Department shall authorize not less than 4 examinations for
licenses as nail
technicians, and nail technology teachers in a calendar
If an applicant neglects, fails without an approved excuse, or refuses to
take the next available examination offered for licensure
under this Act,
the fee paid by the applicant shall be forfeited to the Department and the
application denied. If an applicant fails to pass an examination for
licensure under this Act within 3 years after filing an
the application shall be denied. Nevertheless, the applicant may thereafter
make a new application for examination, accompanied by the required fee,
if he or she meets the requirements in effect at the time of reapplication.
If an applicant for licensure as a nail
technician or nail technology teacher is
unsuccessful at 3 examinations conducted by the Department, the
shall, before taking a subsequent examination, furnish evidence of
successfully completing (i) for a nail technician, not less than 60 hours
of additional study of nail
technology in a licensed school of cosmetology approved
teach nail technology or nail
technology and (ii) for a nail technology teacher, not less than 80 hours of
additional study in teaching methodology and educational psychology in an
approved school of cosmetology or nail technology since
the applicant last took the examination.
An applicant who fails the fourth examination shall not
again be admitted to an examination unless: (i) in the case of an
applicant for a license as a nail technician, the applicant again takes
and completes a total of 350 hours in the study of nail technology in an
approved school of cosmetology or nail technology extending over a
period that commences after the applicant fails to pass the fourth examination
and that is not less than 8 weeks nor more than 2 consecutive years in
duration; or (ii) in the case of an applicant for licensure as a nail
technology teacher, the applicant again takes and completes a program of 625
hours of teacher training in a licensed school of cosmetology, or nail
technology, except that if the applicant had 2 years of practical experience as
a licensed nail technician within 5 years preceding the initial examination
taken by the applicant, the applicant must again take and complete a program
hours of teacher training in a licensed school of cosmetology approved to teach
nail technology, or a licensed school of nail technology.
Each applicant for licensure as a nail technician shall
be given a written examination
testing both theoretical and practical knowledge, which shall include, but
not be limited to, questions that determine the applicant's knowledge of
product chemistry, sanitary rules, sanitary procedures,
hazardous chemicals and exposure minimization, this
Act, and labor and compensation laws.
The examination for licensure as a nail technology teacher may
include knowledge of the subject matter, teaching methodology, classroom
management, record keeping, and any other subjects that the Department in its
discretion may deem necessary to insure competent performance.
This Act does not prohibit the practice of nail technology by a person
who has applied in writing to the Department, in form and substance
satisfactory to the Department, for a license as a nail
technician, or the teaching of nail technology by one who has applied in
writing to the Department, in form and substance satisfactory to the
Department, for a license as a nail technology teacher, if the person has
complied with all the provisions of this Act in order
to qualify for a license, except the passing of an
examination to be eligible to receive a license, until: (a)
the expiration of 6 months after the filing of the written application, or (b)
the decision of the Department that the applicant has failed to pass an
examination within 6 months or failed without an approved excuse to take an
examination conducted within 6 months by the Department, or (c) the
withdrawal of the application.
(Source: P.A. 100-642, eff. 1-1-19; 100-934, eff. 1-1-19