Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 410/2-7
(225 ILCS 410/2-7)
(from Ch. 111, par. 1702-7)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
Examination of applicants.
The Department shall hold examinations
of applicants for licensure as barbers and teachers of barbering at such times
and places as it
may determine. Upon request, the examinations shall be administered in
Each applicant shall be given a written examination testing both
theoretical and practical knowledge of the following subjects insofar as
they are related and applicable to the practice of barber science and
art: (1) anatomy, (2) physiology, (3) skin diseases, (4) hygiene and
sanitation, (5) barber history, (6) this Act and the rules for the administration of this Act, (7) hair cutting and
styling, (8) shaving, shampooing, and permanent waving, (9) massaging, (10)
bleaching, tinting, and coloring, and
The examination of applicants for licensure
as a barber
teacher shall include: (a) practice of barbering and styling, (b)
theory of barbering, (c) methods of teaching, and (d) school management.
An applicant for licensure as a barber who has completed 1,200 hours in the study of barbering may take the examination. If an applicant for licensure as a barber fails to pass 3 examinations conducted by the Department, the applicant shall, before taking a subsequent examination, furnish evidence of not less than 250 hours of additional study of barbering in an approved school of barbering or cosmetology since the applicant last took the examination. If an applicant for licensure as a barber teacher fails to pass 3 examinations conducted by the Department, the applicant shall, before taking a subsequent examination, furnish evidence of not less than 80 hours of additional study in teaching methodology and educational psychology in an approved school of barbering or cosmetology since the applicant last took the examination. An applicant who fails to pass the fourth examination shall not again be admitted to an examination unless: (i) in the case of an applicant for licensure as a barber, the applicant again takes and completes a program of 1,500 hours in the study of barbering in an approved school of barbering or cosmetology extending over a period that commences after the applicant fails to pass the fourth examination and that is not less than 8 months nor more than 7 consecutive years in duration; or (ii) in the case of an applicant for licensure as a barber teacher, the applicant again takes and completes a program of 1,000 hours of teacher training in an approved school of barbering or cosmetology, except that if the applicant had 2 years of practical experience as a licensed barber within the 5 years preceding the initial examination taken by the applicant, the applicant must again take and complete a program of 500 hours of teacher training in an approved school of barbering or cosmetology. The requirements for remedial training set forth in this Section may be waived in whole or in part by the Department upon proof to the Department that the applicant has demonstrated competence to again sit for the examination. The Department shall adopt rules establishing standards by which this determination shall be made.
This Act does not prohibit the practice as a barber or barber teacher by
one who has applied in writing to the Department, in form and substance
satisfactory to the Department, for a license and has complied with all the
provisions of this Act in order to
qualify for a license except the passing
of an examination, until: (a)
the expiration of 6 months after the filing of such written application, or (b)
the decision of the Department that the applicant has failed to pass an
examination within 6 months or failed without an approved excuse to take an
examination conducted within 6 months by the Department, or (c) the withdrawal
of the application.
(Source: P.A. 99-427, eff. 8-21-15; 100-642, eff. 1-1-19; 100-934, eff. 1-1-19