Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 335/11.10

    (225 ILCS 335/11.10)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 11.10. Citations.
    (a) The Department may adopt rules to permit the issuance of citations for non-frivolous complaints. The citation shall list the person's name and address, a brief factual statement, the Sections of the Act or rules allegedly violated, the penalty imposed, and, if applicable, the licensee's license number. The citation must clearly state that the person may choose, in lieu of accepting the citation, to request a hearing. If the person does not dispute the matter in the citation with the Department within 30 days after the citation is served, then the citation shall become a final order and shall constitute discipline. The penalty shall be a fine or other conditions as established by rule.
    (b) The Department shall adopt rules designating violations for which a citation may be issued. Such rules shall designate as citation violations those violations for which there is no substantial threat to the public health, safety, and welfare. Citations shall not be utilized if there was any significant consumer harm resulting from the violation.
    (c) A citation must be issued within 6 months after the reporting of a violation that is the basis for the citation.
    (d) Service of a citation may be made by personal service or certified mail to the person at the person's last known address of record or, if applicable, the licensee's address of record.
(Source: P.A. 99-469, eff. 8-26-15.)