Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(225 ILCS 317/35)
Fees, renewals, continuing education, and required insurance.
(a) The fees for an original license and each renewal and for duplicate
copies of licenses
shall be determined by the State Fire Marshal by rule.
(b) Each license must be renewed every 2 years. Each licensee must complete 16 hours of continuing education in the 2-year period following his or her renewal or initial licensure after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 97th General Assembly. Current licensure as a professional engineer or proof of current NICET certification in Level III or IV shall satisfy this requirement for designated certified persons. Continuing education offered through nationally recognized building and fire code organizations and their affiliates; nationally recognized fire sprinkler organizations and their affiliates; institutions of higher education; educational bodies specializing in automatic fire suppression system technology; as well as other entities approved by the State Fire Marshal shall be also acceptable. All continuing education entities seeking to be approved providers of continuing education shall make application to the State Fire Marshal and offer programs that:
(1) contribute to the advancement, extension, or
enhancement of the professional skills or technical knowledge of the licensee in the practice of fire sprinkler contracting; and
(2) are developed and presented by persons with
education or experience in the subject manner of the program.
(c) Any person who fails to file a renewal application by the date of
expiration of a license
shall be assessed a late filing charge, which shall be determined by the State
Fire Marshal by rule.
(d) All fees shall be paid by check or money order. Any fee required by this
Act is not
refundable in the event that the original application or application for
renewal is denied.
(e) Every application for an original license shall be accompanied by a
insurance issued by an insurance company authorized to do business in the State
of Illinois or by a
risk retention or purchasing group formed pursuant to the federal Liability
Risk Retention Act of
1986, which provides primary, first dollar public liability coverage of the
applicant or licensee for
personal injuries for not less than $500,000 per person or $1,000,000 per
occurrence, and, in
addition, for not less than $1,000,000 per occurrence for property damage. The
insurance policy shall
be in effect at all times during the license year and a new certificate of insurance shall be filed
with the State Fire Marshal within 30 days after the renewal of the insurance
(Source: P.A. 97-112, eff. 7-14-11.)