Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 217/83

    (225 ILCS 217/83)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 83. Citations.
    (a) The State Fire Marshal may adopt rules to permit the issuance of citations for certain violations of this Act or the rules adopted under this Act. The citation shall be issued to the licensee or other person doing business without the required license and shall contain the person's name and address, the licensee's license number, if applicable, a brief factual statement, the Sections of the law or rules allegedly violated, and the penalty imposed. The citation must clearly state that the person may choose, in lieu of accepting the citation, to request a hearing to appeal the citation. The citation shall not provide a hearing date less than 30 days after the citation's issuance date. Any dispute filed by the person with the State Fire Marshal shall comply with the requirements for a written answer set forth in subsection (a) of Section 85 of this Act. If the person does not file a written appeal of the citation with the State Fire Marshal within 20 days after the citation is served, then the citation shall become a final order and shall constitute discipline. The penalty shall be a fine or other conditions as established by rule.
    (b) The State Fire Marshal shall adopt rules designating violations for which a citation may be issued, which may specify separate hearing procedures for appeals of the citations so long as the hearing procedures are not inconsistent with the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act.
    (c) (Blank).
    (d) Service of a citation may be made by personal service or certified mail to the licensee or other person doing business without the required license at the person's last known address.
(Source: P.A. 102-715, eff. 4-29-22.)