Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 130/85

    (225 ILCS 130/85)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2029)
    Sec. 85. Investigation; notice; hearing. The Department may investigate the actions of a person applying for, holding, or claiming to hold a certificate of registration. The Department shall, before refusing to issue or renew a registration or taking other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action pursuant to Section 75 of this Act, and at least 30 days prior to the date set for the hearing, (i) notify in writing the applicant or registrant of the charges made and the time and place for a hearing of the charges, (ii) direct the applicant or registrant to file a written answer to the Department under oath within 20 days after the service of the notice, and (iii) inform the applicant or registrant that failure to file an answer will result in default being taken against the applicant or registrant.
    Written notice and any notice in the subsequent proceeding may be served by registered or certified mail to the applicant's or registrant's address of record or, if in the course of the administrative proceeding the party has previously designated a specific email address at which to accept electronic service for that specific proceeding, by sending a copy by email to the party's email address on record. If the person fails to file an answer after receiving notice, his or her certificate of registration may, in the discretion of the Department, be suspended, revoked, or placed on probationary status or the Department may take whatever disciplinary or non-disciplinary action deemed proper, including limiting the delegated tasks or the imposition of a fine, without a hearing, if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient grounds for such action under this Act. At the time and place fixed in the notice, the Department shall proceed to hearing of the charges and the parties and their counsel shall be afforded ample opportunity to present any pertinent statements, testimony, evidence, and arguments. The Department may continue a hearing from time to time.
(Source: P.A. 103-387, eff. 1-1-24.)