Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 106/105
(225 ILCS 106/105)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
Investigations; notice; hearing.
The Department may investigate the actions of an applicant, a licensee, or a
person claiming to hold a license. The Department shall, before revoking,
suspending, placing on probation, reprimanding, or taking any other
action under Section 95 of this Act, at least 30 days before the date set for
the hearing (i) notify the accused, in writing, of any charges made and the
time and place for the hearing on the charges, (ii) direct him or her to file
a written answer to the charges with the Board under oath within 20 days after
service upon him or her of the notice, and (iii) inform the accused that, if he
or she fails to answer, default will be taken against him or her and his or
her license may be suspended, revoked, placed on probationary
status, or other disciplinary action taken with regard to the license,
limiting the scope, nature, or extent of his or her practice,
without a hearing,
as the Department
may consider proper. In case the person, after receiving notice, fails to file
an answer, his or her license may, in the discretion of the Department, be
suspended, revoked, placed on probationary status, or the Department may take
whatever disciplinary action is considered proper, including, limiting the
scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice or the imposition of a fine,
without a hearing, if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient grounds for
an action under this Act. The written notice may be served by personal
delivery or certified mail to the address of record.
(Source: P.A. 99-230, eff. 8-3-15.)