Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 100/24
(225 ILCS 100/24)
(from Ch. 111, par. 4824)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
Grounds for disciplinary action.
The Department may refuse to issue, may refuse to renew,
may refuse to restore, may suspend, or may revoke any license, or may place
on probation, reprimand or take other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action as the
Department may deem proper, including fines not to exceed $10,000
for each violation upon anyone licensed under this Act for any of the
(1) Making a material misstatement in furnishing
information to the Department.
(2) Violations of this Act, or of the rules adopted
(3) Conviction by plea of guilty or nolo contendere,
finding of guilt, jury verdict, or entry of judgment or sentencing, including, but not limited to, convictions, preceding sentences of supervision, conditional discharge, or first offender probation, under the laws of any jurisdiction of the United States that is (i) a felony or (ii) a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or that is directly related to the practice of the profession.
(4) Making any misrepresentation for the purpose of
obtaining licenses, or violating any provision of this Act or the rules promulgated thereunder pertaining to advertising.
(5) Professional incompetence.
(6) Gross or repeated malpractice or negligence.
(7) Aiding or assisting another person in violating
any provision of this Act or rules.
(8) Failing, within 30 days, to provide information
in response to a written request made by the Department.
(9) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical or
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud or harm the public.
(10) Habitual or excessive use of alcohol, narcotics,
stimulants or other chemical agent or drug that results in the inability to practice podiatric medicine with reasonable judgment, skill or safety.
(11) Discipline by another United States jurisdiction
if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Section.
(12) Violation of the prohibition against fee
splitting in Section 24.2 of this Act.
(13) A finding by the Board that the licensee, after
having his or her license placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation.
(14) Abandonment of a patient.
(15) Willfully making or filing false records or
reports in his or her practice, including but not limited to false records filed with state agencies or departments.
(16) Willfully failing to report an instance of
suspected child abuse or neglect as required by the Abused and Neglected Child Report Act.
(17) Physical illness, mental illness, or other
impairment, including, but not limited to, deterioration through the aging process, or loss of motor skill that results in the inability to practice the profession with reasonable judgment, skill or safety.
(18) Solicitation of professional services other than
(19) The determination by a circuit court that a
licensed podiatric physician is subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission as provided in the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code operates as an automatic suspension. Such suspension will end only upon a finding by a court that the patient is no longer subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission and issues an order so finding and discharging the patient; and upon the recommendation of the Board to the Secretary that the licensee be allowed to resume his or her practice.
(20) Holding oneself out to treat human ailments
under any name other than his or her own, or the impersonation of any other physician.
(21) Revocation or suspension or other action taken
with respect to a podiatric medical license in another jurisdiction that would constitute disciplinary action under this Act.
(22) Promotion of the sale of drugs, devices,
appliances or goods provided for a patient in such manner as to exploit the patient for financial gain of the podiatric physician.
(23) Gross, willful, and continued overcharging for
professional services including filing false statements for collection of fees for those services, including, but not limited to, filing false statement for collection of monies for services not rendered from the medical assistance program of the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Department of Public Aid) under the Illinois Public Aid Code or other private or public third party payor.
(24) Being named as a perpetrator in an indicated
report by the Department of Children and Family Services under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, and upon proof by clear and convincing evidence that the licensee has caused a child to be an abused child or neglected child as defined in the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.
(25) Willfully making or filing false records or
reports in the practice of podiatric medicine, including, but not limited to, false records to support claims against the medical assistance program of the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Department of Public Aid) under the Illinois Public Aid Code.
(27) Immoral conduct in the commission of any act
including, sexual abuse, sexual misconduct, or sexual exploitation, related to the licensee's practice.
(28) Violation of the Health Care Worker
(29) Failure to report to the Department any adverse
final action taken against him or her by another licensing jurisdiction of the United States or any foreign state or country, any peer review body, any health care institution, any professional society or association, any governmental agency, any law enforcement agency, or any court for acts or conduct similar to acts or conduct that would constitute grounds for action as defined in this Section.
(30) Willfully failing to report an instance of
suspected abuse, neglect, financial exploitation, or self-neglect of an eligible adult as defined in and required by the Adult Protective Services Act.
(31) Being named as a perpetrator in an indicated
report by the Department on Aging under the Adult Protective Services Act, and upon proof by clear and convincing evidence that the licensee has caused an eligible adult to be abused, neglected, or financially exploited as defined in the Adult Protective Services Act.
The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend the license of any
person who fails to file a return, or to pay the tax, penalty or interest
shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty or
interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the Illinois
Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of any such tax
Act are satisfied.
Upon receipt of a written
communication from the Secretary of Human Services, the Director of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Director of
Public Aid), or the Director of Public Health that
continuation of practice of a person licensed under
this Act constitutes an immediate danger to the public, the Secretary may
the license of such person without a hearing. In instances in which the Secretary immediately suspends a license under this Section, a hearing upon
such person's license must be convened by the Board within 15 days after
such suspension and completed without appreciable delay, such hearing held
to determine whether to recommend to the Secretary that the person's license
be revoked, suspended, placed on probationary status or restored, or such
person be subject to other disciplinary action. In such hearing, the
written communication and any other evidence submitted therewith may be
introduced as evidence against such person; provided, however, the person
or his counsel shall have the opportunity to discredit or impeach such
evidence and submit evidence rebutting the same.
Except for fraud in procuring a license, all
proceedings to suspend, revoke, place on probationary status, or take
other disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper, with regard to a
license on any of the foregoing grounds, must be commenced within 5 years after
receipt by the Department of a complaint alleging the commission of or notice
of the conviction order for any of the acts described in this Section. Except
for the grounds set forth in items (8), (9), (26), and (29) of this Section, no action shall be commenced more than 10 years after
the date of the incident or act alleged to have
violation of this Section.
In the event of the settlement of any claim or cause of action in favor of
the claimant or the reduction to final judgment of any civil action in favor of
the plaintiff, such claim, cause of action, or civil action being grounded on
the allegation that a person licensed under this Act was negligent in providing
care, the Department shall have an additional period of 2 years from the date
of notification to the Department under Section 26 of this Act of such
settlement or final judgment in which to investigate and commence formal
disciplinary proceedings under Section 24 of this Act, except as otherwise
provided by law.
time during which the holder of the license was outside the State of Illinois
shall not be included within any period of time limiting the commencement of
disciplinary action by the Department.
In enforcing this Section, the Department or Board upon a showing of a
violation may compel an individual licensed to practice under this Act, or
who has applied for licensure under this Act, to submit
to a mental or physical examination, or both, as required by and at the expense
of the Department. The Department or Board may order the examining physician to
testimony concerning the mental or physical examination of the licensee or
applicant. No information shall be excluded by reason of any common law or
statutory privilege relating to communications between the licensee or
applicant and the examining physician. The examining
shall be specifically designated by the Board or Department.
The individual to be examined may have, at his or her own expense, another
physician of his or her choice present during all
aspects of this examination. Failure of an individual to submit to a mental
physical examination, when directed, shall be grounds for suspension of his or
license until the individual submits to the examination if the Department
after notice and hearing, that the refusal to submit to the examination was
without reasonable cause.
If the Department or Board finds an individual unable to practice because of
set forth in this Section, the Department or Board may require that individual
care, counseling, or treatment by physicians approved
or designated by the Department or Board, as a condition, term, or restriction
renewed licensure to practice; or, in lieu of care, counseling, or treatment,
the Department may file, or
the Board may recommend to the Department to file, a complaint to immediately
suspend, revoke, or otherwise discipline the license of the individual.
An individual whose
license was granted, continued, restored, renewed, disciplined or supervised
subject to such terms, conditions, or restrictions, and who fails to comply
such terms, conditions, or restrictions, shall be referred to the Secretary for
determination as to whether the individual shall have his or her license
suspended immediately, pending a hearing by the Department.
In instances in which the Secretary immediately suspends a person's license
under this Section, a hearing on that person's license must be convened by
the Department within 30 days after the suspension and completed without
The Department and Board shall have the authority to review the subject
individual's record of
treatment and counseling regarding the impairment to the extent permitted by
applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of
An individual licensed under this Act and affected under this Section shall
afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department or Board that he or
she can resume
practice in compliance with acceptable and prevailing standards under the
provisions of his or her license.
(Source: P.A. 100-525, eff. 9-22-17.)