Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 84/90
(225 ILCS 84/90)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2030)
Grounds for discipline.
(a) The Department may refuse to issue or renew a license, or may revoke or
suspend a license, or may suspend, place on probation, or reprimand a
or take other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper, including, but not limited to, the imposition of fines not to exceed $10,000 for each violation for one or any combination of the following:
(1) Making a material misstatement in furnishing
information to the Department or the Board.
(2) Violations of or negligent or intentional
disregard of this Act or its rules.
(3) Conviction of, or entry of a plea of guilty or
nolo contendere, finding of guilt, jury verdict, or entry of judgment or sentencing, including, but not limited to, convictions, preceding sentences of supervision, conditional discharge, or first offender probation under the laws of the United States or any state or that is (i) a felony, or (ii) a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or any crime that is directly related to the practice of the profession.
(4) Making a misrepresentation for the purpose of
obtaining a license under this Act or in connection with applying for renewal or restoration of a license under this Act.
(5) A pattern of practice or other behavior that
demonstrates incapacity or incompetence to practice under this Act.
(6) Gross negligence under this Act.
(7) Aiding or assisting another person in violating a
provision of this Act or its rules.
(8) Failing to provide information within 60 days in
response to a written request made by the Department.
(9) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
unprofessional conduct or conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public.
(10) Inability to practice with reasonable judgment,
skill, or safety as a result of habitual or excessive use or addiction to alcohol, narcotics, stimulants, or any other chemical agent or drug.
(11) Discipline by another state or territory of the
United States, the federal government, or foreign nation, if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to one set forth in this Section.
(12) Directly or indirectly giving to or receiving
from a person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association a fee, commission, rebate, or other form of compensation for professional services not actually or personally rendered. Nothing in this paragraph (12) affects any bona fide independent contractor or employment arrangements among health care professionals, health facilities, health care providers, or other entities, except as otherwise prohibited by law. Any employment arrangements may include provisions for compensation, health insurance, pension, or other employment benefits for the provision of services within the scope of the licensee's practice under this Act. Nothing in this paragraph (12) shall be construed to require an employment arrangement to receive professional fees for services rendered.
(13) A finding by the Board that the licensee or
registrant, after having his or her license placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation or failed to comply with such terms.
(14) Abandonment of a patient or client.
(15) Willfully making or filing false records or
reports related to the licensee's practice, including, but not limited to, false records filed with federal or State agencies or departments.
(16) Willfully failing to report an instance of
suspected abuse, neglect, financial exploitation, or self-neglect of an eligible child or adult as required by the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act and the Adult Protective Services Act.
(17) Inability to practice the profession with
reasonable judgment, skill, or safety as a result of a physical illness, including, but not limited to, deterioration through the aging process or loss of motor skill, or a mental illness or disability.
(18) Solicitation of professional services using
false or misleading advertising.
(b) In enforcing this Section, the Department or Board upon a showing of a possible violation, may compel a licensee or applicant to submit to a mental or physical examination, or both, as required by and at the expense of the Department. The Department or Board may order the examining physician to present testimony concerning the mental or physical examination of the licensee or applicant. No information shall be excluded by reason of any common law or statutory privilege relating to communications between the licensee or applicant and the examining physician. The examining physicians shall be specifically designated by the Board or Department. The individual to be examined may have, at his or her own expense, another physician of his or her choice present during all aspects of this examination. Failure of an individual to submit to a mental or physical examination, when directed, shall be grounds for the immediate suspension of his or her license until the individual submits to the examination if the Department finds that the refusal to submit to the examination was without reasonable cause as defined by rule.
If the Secretary immediately suspends a person's license for his or her failure to submit to a mental or physical examination, when directed, a hearing on that person's license must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay.
If the Secretary otherwise suspends a person's license pursuant to the results of a compelled mental or physical examination, a hearing on that person's license must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay. The Department and Board shall have the authority to review the subject individual's record of treatment and counseling regarding the impairment to the extent permitted by applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of medical records.
An individual licensed under this Act and affected under this Section shall be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department or Board that he or she can resume practice in compliance with acceptable and prevailing standards under his or her license.
(d) If the Department of Healthcare and Family Services (formerly Department of Public Aid) has previously determined that a licensee or a potential licensee is more than 30 days delinquent in the payment of child support and has subsequently certified the delinquency to the Department, the Department may refuse to issue or renew or may revoke or suspend that person's license or may take other disciplinary action against that person based solely upon the certification of delinquency made by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services in accordance with subsection (a)(5) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
(e) The Department shall refuse to issue or renew a license, or may revoke or suspend a license, for failure to file a return, to pay the tax, penalty, or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty, or interest as required by any tax Act administered by the Department of Revenue, until the requirements of the tax Act are satisfied in accordance with subsection (g) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
(Source: P.A. 100-872, eff. 8-14-18; 101-269, eff. 8-9-19.)