Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 80/26.2
(225 ILCS 80/26.2)
(from Ch. 111, par. 3926.2)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
The Department may investigate the
actions of any applicant
or of any person or persons holding or claiming to hold a license. The
Department shall, before suspending, revoking, placing on probationary
status, or taking any other disciplinary action as the Department may deem
proper with regard to any license, at least 30 days prior
to the date set for the hearing, notify the accused in writing of any
charges made and the time and place for a hearing of the charges before the
Board, direct him or her to file his or her written
answer to the Board
oath within 20 days after the service on him or her of the notice and
inform him or her
that if he or she fails to file an answer default will be taken against
him or her and
his or her license may be suspended, revoked, placed on
probationary status, or have other disciplinary action, including limiting
the scope, nature or extent of his or her practice, as the Department may
proper taken with regard thereto. The written notice and any notice in the subsequent proceeding may be served by
personal delivery or by regular or certified mail to
the applicant's or licensee's address of record.
In case the person fails to file an answer after receiving notice, his or
her license may, in the discretion of the Department, be
suspended, revoked, or placed on probationary status, or the Department may
take whatever disciplinary action deemed proper, including limiting the
scope, nature, or extent of the person's practice or the imposition of a
fine, without a hearing, if the act or acts charged constitute sufficient
grounds for such action under this Act.
At the time and place fixed in the notice, the Department
shall proceed to hear the charges and the parties or their counsel shall be
accorded ample opportunity to present such statements, testimony, evidence
and argument as may be pertinent to the charges or to their
The Department may continue the hearing from time to time.
At the discretion of the Secretary after having first received the
recommendation of the Board, the accused person's license may
revoked, placed on probationary status, or whatever disciplinary action as
the Secretary may deem proper, including limiting the scope, nature,
or extent of
said person's practice, without a hearing, if the act or acts charged
constitute sufficient grounds for such action under this Act.
(Source: P.A. 99-909, eff. 1-1-17.)