Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(225 ILCS 70/11)
(from Ch. 111, par. 3661)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
Expiration; renewal; continuing education.
The expiration date
and renewal period for each license
issued under this Act shall be set by rule.
Each licensee shall provide proof of having obtained 36 hours of
continuing education in the 2 year period preceding the renewal date of the
license as a condition of license renewal. The continuing education rules must allow for a licensee to complete all required hours of continuing education in an online format. The continuing education
requirement may be waived in part or in whole for such good cause as may be
determined by rule.
Any continuing education course for nursing home administrators approved
by the National Continuing Education Review Service of the National
Association of Boards of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators will be
accepted toward satisfaction of these requirements.
Any continuing education course for nursing home administrators sponsored
by the Life Services Network of Illinois, Illinois Council on
Long Term Care, County Nursing Home Association of Illinois, Illinois Health
Care Association, Illinois Chapter of American College of Health Care
Administrators, and the Illinois Nursing Home Administrators Association
will be accepted toward satisfaction of these requirements.
Any school, college or university, State agency, or other entity may
apply to the Department for approval as a continuing education
Criteria for qualification as a continuing education sponsor shall be
established by rule.
It shall be the responsibility of each continuing education sponsor to
maintain records, as prescribed by rule, to verify attendance.
The Department shall establish by rule a means for the verification of
completion of the continuing education required by this Section. This
verification may be accomplished through audits of records maintained by
registrants; by requiring the filing of continuing education certificates
with the Department; or by other means
established by the Department.
Any nursing home administrator who has permitted his or her license to
who has had his or her license on inactive status may have his or her
license restored by
making application to the Department and filing proof acceptable to the
Department, as defined by rule, of his or her fitness to have his or her license restored
and by paying the
required fee. Proof of fitness may include evidence certifying to active
lawful practice in another jurisdiction satisfactory to the Department and
by paying the required restoration fee.
However, any nursing home administrator whose license expired while he or
was (1) in federal service on active duty with the Armed Forces of the
United States, or the State Militia called into service or training, or (2)
in training or education under the supervision of the United States
preliminary to induction into the military services, may have his or her
renewed or restored without paying any lapsed renewal fees if within 2
years after honorable termination of such service, training or education,
he or she furnishes the Department with satisfactory evidence to the effect
he or she has been so engaged and that his or her service, training or
education has been
(Source: P.A. 101-655, eff. 3-12-21.)