Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 65/70-80
(225 ILCS 65/70-80)
(was 225 ILCS 65/20-80)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
Investigation; notice; hearing.
Department may investigate the actions of any applicant or of any person
or persons holding or claiming to hold a license under this Act.
(b) The Department shall,
before disciplining a license under this Section or refusing to issue a license, at least 30 days prior to the date set for the
hearing, (i) notify the accused in writing of any charges made and the time and
place for the hearing of the charges, (ii) direct
her or him
to file a written answer to the charges under oath
within 20 days
after service; and (iii) inform the applicant or licensee that failure to answer will result in a default being entered against the applicant or licensee. As a result of the default,
such license may be suspended, revoked, placed on
probationary status, or have other disciplinary action, including limiting
the scope, nature or extent of her or his practice, as the Department may
deem proper taken with regard thereto.
and place fixed in the notice, the Department shall proceed to hear the
charges and the parties or their counsel shall be accorded ample
opportunity to present any pertinent statements, testimony, evidence and arguments. The
Department may continue a hearing from time to time. In case the accused
after receiving notice, fails to file an answer, her or his license may in the
discretion of the Secretary, having received first
the recommendation of the Board, be suspended,
revoked, placed on probationary status, or be subject to whatever disciplinary action the Secretary considers proper, including limiting the
nature, or extent of said person's practice or the imposition of a fine, without a hearing, if the act
or acts charged constitute sufficient grounds for such action under this Act.
(d) The written notice and any notice in the subsequent proceeding may be served by personal delivery or regular or certified mail to the respondent at the respondent's address of record or by email to the respondent's email address of record.
(e) The Secretary has the authority to appoint any attorney licensed to practice law in the State of Illinois to serve as the hearing officer in any action for refusal to issue, restore, or renew a license or to discipline a licensee. The hearing officer has full authority to conduct the hearing. The Board may have a member or members present at any hearing. The Board members shall have equal or greater licensing qualifications than those of the licensee being prosecuted.
(Source: P.A. 100-513, eff. 1-1-18