Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 63/110

    (225 ILCS 63/110)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 110. Grounds for disciplinary action; refusal, revocation, suspension.
    (a) The Department may refuse to issue or to renew, or may revoke, suspend, place on probation, reprimand or take other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action as the Department may deem appropriate, including imposing fines not to exceed $10,000 for each violation, with regard to any licensee or license for any one or combination of the following causes:
        (1) Violations of this Act or of rules adopted under
this Act.
        (2) Making a material misstatement in furnishing
information to the Department or otherwise making misleading, deceptive, untrue, or fraudulent representations in violation of this Act or otherwise in the practice of the profession.
        (3) Conviction by plea of guilty or nolo contendere,
finding of guilt, jury verdict, or entry of judgment, or by sentencing of any crime, including, but not limited to, convictions, preceding sentences of supervision, conditional discharge, or first offender probation, under the laws of any jurisdiction of the United States: (i) that is a felony or (ii) that is a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or that is directly related to the practice of the profession.
        (4) Fraud or any misrepresentation in applying for or
procuring a license under this Act or in connection with applying for renewal of a license under this Act.
        (5) Professional incompetence or gross negligence.
        (6) Malpractice.
        (7) Aiding or assisting another person in violating
any provision of this Act or its rules.
        (8) Failing to provide information within 60 days in
response to a written request made by the Department.
        (9) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public.
        (10) Habitual or excessive use or abuse of drugs
defined in law as controlled substances, alcohol, or any other substance which results in the inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
        (11) Discipline by another U.S. jurisdiction or
foreign nation if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those set forth in this Act.
        (12) Directly or indirectly giving to or receiving
from any person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association any fee, commission, rebate, or other form of compensation for any professional services not actually or personally rendered. This shall not be deemed to include rent or other remunerations paid to an individual, partnership, or corporation by a naprapath for the lease, rental, or use of space, owned or controlled by the individual, partnership, corporation, or association. Nothing in this paragraph (12) affects any bona fide independent contractor or employment arrangements among health care professionals, health facilities, health care providers, or other entities, except as otherwise prohibited by law. Any employment arrangements may include provisions for compensation, health insurance, pension, or other employment benefits for the provision of services within the scope of the licensee's practice under this Act. Nothing in this paragraph (12) shall be construed to require an employment arrangement to receive professional fees for services rendered.
        (13) Using the title "Doctor" or its abbreviation
without further clarifying that title or abbreviation with the word "naprapath" or "naprapathy" or the designation "D.N.".
        (14) A finding by the Department that the licensee,
after having his or her license placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation.
        (15) Abandonment of a patient without cause.
        (16) Willfully making or filing false records or
reports relating to a licensee's practice, including but not limited to, false records filed with State agencies or departments.
        (17) Willfully failing to report an instance of
suspected child abuse or neglect as required by the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.
        (18) Physical or mental illness or disability,
including, but not limited to, deterioration through the aging process or loss of motor skill that results in the inability to practice the profession with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety.
        (19) Solicitation of professional services by means
other than permitted advertising.
        (20) Failure to provide a patient with a copy of his
or her record upon the written request of the patient.
        (21) Cheating on or attempting to subvert the
licensing examination administered under this Act.
        (22) Allowing one's license under this Act to be used
by an unlicensed person in violation of this Act.
        (23) (Blank).
        (24) Being named as a perpetrator in an indicated
report by the Department of Children and Family Services under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act and upon proof by clear and convincing evidence that the licensee has caused a child to be an abused child or a neglected child as defined in the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act.
        (25) Practicing under a false or, except as provided
by law, an assumed name.
        (26) Immoral conduct in the commission of any act,
such as sexual abuse, sexual misconduct, or sexual exploitation, related to the licensee's practice.
        (27) Maintaining a professional relationship with any
person, firm, or corporation when the naprapath knows, or should know, that the person, firm, or corporation is violating this Act.
        (28) Promotion of the sale of food supplements,
devices, appliances, or goods provided for a client or patient in such manner as to exploit the patient or client for financial gain of the licensee.
        (29) Having treated ailments of human beings other
than by the practice of naprapathy as defined in this Act unless authorized to do so by State law.
        (30) Use by a registered naprapath of the word
"infirmary", "hospital", "school", "university", in English or any other language, in connection with the place where naprapathy may be practiced or demonstrated.
        (31) Continuance of a naprapath in the employ of any
person, firm, or corporation, or as an assistant to any naprapath or naprapaths, directly or indirectly, after his or her employer or superior has been found guilty of violating or has been enjoined from violating the laws of the State of Illinois relating to the practice of naprapathy when the employer or superior persists in that violation.
        (32) The performance of naprapathic service in
conjunction with a scheme or plan with another person, firm, or corporation known to be advertising in a manner contrary to this Act or otherwise violating the laws of the State of Illinois concerning the practice of naprapathy.
        (33) Failure to provide satisfactory proof of having
participated in approved continuing education programs as determined by and approved by the Secretary. Exceptions for extreme hardships are to be defined by the rules of the Department.
        (34) (Blank).
        (35) Gross or willful overcharging for professional
        (36) (Blank).
    All fines imposed under this Section shall be paid within 60 days after the effective date of the order imposing the fine, unless an alternate payment schedule has been agreed upon in writing.
    (b) A person not licensed under this Act and engaged in the business of offering naprapathy services through others, shall not aid, abet, assist, procure, advise, employ, or contract with any unlicensed person to practice naprapathy contrary to any rules or provisions of this Act. A person violating this subsection (b) shall be treated as a licensee for the purposes of disciplinary action under this Section and shall be subject to cease and desist orders as provided in Section 90 of this Act.
    (b-5) The Department may refuse to issue or may suspend the license of any person who fails to file a tax return, to pay the tax, penalty, or interest shown in a filed tax return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty, or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the Department of Revenue, until the requirements of the tax Act are satisfied in accordance with subsection (g) of Section 2105-15 of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
    (c) (Blank).
    (d) In cases where the Department of Healthcare and Family Services has previously determined a licensee or a potential licensee is more than 30 days delinquent in the payment of child support and has subsequently certified the delinquency to the Department, the Department may refuse to issue or renew or may revoke or suspend that person's license or may take other disciplinary action against that person based solely upon the certification of delinquency made by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services in accordance with item (5) of subsection (a) of Section 2105-15 of the Department of Professional Regulation Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
    (e) The determination by a circuit court that a licensee is subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission, as provided in the Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities Code, operates as an automatic suspension. The suspension shall end only upon a finding by a court that the patient is no longer subject to involuntary admission or judicial admission and the issuance of an order so finding and discharging the patient and upon the Board's recommendation to the Department that the license be restored. Where the circumstances so indicate, the Board may recommend to the Department that it require an examination prior to restoring a suspended license.
    (f) In enforcing this Act, the Department, upon a showing of a possible violation, may compel an individual licensed to practice under this Act, or who has applied for licensure under this Act, to submit to a mental or physical examination, or both, as required by and at the expense of the Department. The Department or Board may order the examining physician to present testimony concerning the mental or physical examination of the licensee or applicant. No information shall be excluded by reason of any common law or statutory privilege relating to communications between the licensee or applicant and the examining physician. The examining physicians shall be specifically designated by the Board or Department. The individual to be examined may have, at his or her own expense, another physician of his or her choice present during all aspects of this examination. The examination shall be performed by a physician under the Medical Practice Act of 1987. Failure of an individual to submit to a mental or physical examination, when directed, shall result in an automatic suspension without hearing.
    A person holding a license under this Act or who has applied for a license under this Act who, because of a physical or mental illness or disability, including, but not limited to, deterioration through the aging process or loss of motor skill, is unable to practice the profession with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety, may be required by the Department to submit to care, counseling, or treatment by physicians approved or designated by the Department as a condition, term, or restriction for continued, reinstated, or renewed licensure to practice. Submission to care, counseling, or treatment as required by the Department shall not be considered discipline of a license. If the licensee refuses to enter into a care, counseling, or treatment agreement or fails to abide by the terms of the agreement, the Department may file a complaint to revoke, suspend, or otherwise discipline the license of the individual. The Secretary may order the license suspended immediately, pending a hearing by the Department. Fines shall not be assessed in disciplinary actions involving physical or mental illness or impairment.
    In instances in which the Secretary immediately suspends a person's license under this Section, a hearing on that person's license must be convened by the Department within 15 days after the suspension and completed without appreciable delay. The Department and the Board shall have the authority to review the subject individual's record of treatment and counseling regarding the impairment to the extent permitted by applicable federal statutes and regulations safeguarding the confidentiality of medical records.
    An individual licensed under this Act and affected under this Section shall be afforded an opportunity to demonstrate to the Department that he or she can resume practice in compliance with acceptable and prevailing standards under the provisions of his or her license.
(Source: P.A. 102-880, eff. 1-1-23.)