Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

225 ILCS 51/75

    (225 ILCS 51/75)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 75. Refused issuance, suspension, revocation, or other discipline of license.
    (a) The Department may refuse to issue, renew, or restore a license, or may revoke, suspend, place on probation, reprimand, impose a fine not to exceed $10,000 for each violation, or take other disciplinary or non-disciplinary action as the Department may deem proper with regard to a licensee for any one or combination of the following reasons:
        (1) Making a material misstatement in furnishing
information to the Department.
        (2) Violation of this Act or its rules.
        (3) Conviction of the licensee or any owner or
officer of the licensee by plea of guilty or nolo contendere, finding of guilt, jury verdict, or entry of judgment or by sentencing for any crime, including, but not limited to, convictions, preceding sentences of supervision, conditional discharge, or first offender probation, under the laws of any jurisdiction of the United States that (i) is a felony under the laws of this State or (ii) is a misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or that is directly related to the home medical and equipment services.
        (4) Making a misrepresentation to obtain licensure or
to violate a provision of this Act.
        (5) Gross negligence in practice under this Act.
        (6) Engaging in a pattern of practice or other
behavior that demonstrates incapacity or incompetence to practice under this Act.
        (7) Aiding, assisting, or willingly permitting
another person in violating any provision of this Act or its rules.
        (8) Failing, within 30 days, to provide information
in response to a written request made by the Department.
        (9) Engaging in dishonorable, unethical, or
unprofessional conduct of a character likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public.
        (10) Adverse action taken by another state, District
of Columbia, territory, or foreign nation, if at least one of the grounds for the discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to one set forth in this Act.
        (11) Directly or indirectly giving to or receiving
from any person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association any fee, commission, rebate, or other form of compensation for any services not actually or personally rendered.
        (12) A finding that the licensee, after having its
license placed on probationary status, has violated the terms of probation.
        (13) Willfully making or filing false records or
reports in the course of providing home medical equipment and services, including but not limited to false records or reports filed with State agencies or departments.
        (14) Solicitation of business services, other than
according to permitted advertising.
        (15) The use of any words, abbreviations, figures, or
letters with the intention of indicating practice as a home medical equipment and services provider without a license issued under this Act.
        (16) Failure to file a return, or to pay the tax,
penalty, or interest shown in a filed return, or to pay any final assessment of tax, penalty, or interest, as required by any tax Act administered by the Department of Revenue, until such time as the requirements of any such tax Act are satisfied.
        (17) Failure to comply with federal or State laws and
regulations concerning home medical equipment and services providers.
        (18) Solicitation of professional services using
false or misleading advertising.
        (19) Failure to display a license in accordance with
Section 45.
        (20) Habitual or excessive use or addiction to
alcohol, narcotics, stimulants, or any other chemical agent or drug that results in the inability to practice with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety by an owner or officer of the licensee.
        (21) Physical illness, mental illness, or disability,
including without limitation deterioration through the aging process and loss of motor skill, that results in the inability to practice the profession with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety by an owner or officer of the licensee.
    All fines imposed under this Section shall be paid within 60 days after the effective date of the order imposing the fine or in accordance with the terms set forth in the order imposing the fine.
(Source: P.A. 100-525, eff. 9-22-17.)