Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
225 ILCS 10/5
(225 ILCS 10/5)
(from Ch. 23, par. 2215)
(a) In respect to child care institutions, maternity
centers, child welfare agencies, day care centers, day care agencies
and group homes, the Department, upon receiving application filed in
proper order, shall examine the facilities and persons responsible for
care of children therein.
(b) In respect to foster family and day care homes, applications
may be filed on behalf of such homes by a licensed child welfare agency,
by a State agency authorized to place children in foster care or by
out-of-State agencies approved by the Department to place children in
this State. In respect to day care homes, applications may be filed on
behalf of such homes by a licensed day care agency or licensed child welfare
agency. In applying for license in behalf of a home in which
children are placed by and remain under supervision of the applicant
agency, such agency shall certify that the home and persons responsible
for care of unrelated children therein, or the home and relatives, as defined in Section 2.17 of this Act, responsible
for the care of related children therein, were found to be in reasonable
compliance with standards prescribed by the Department for the type of
(c) The Department shall not allow any person to examine facilities
under a provision of this Act who has not passed an examination
demonstrating that such person is familiar with this Act and with the
appropriate standards and regulations of the Department.
(d) With the exception of day care centers, day care homes, and group day
care homes, licenses shall be issued in such form and manner as prescribed
by the Department and are valid for 4 years from the date issued,
revoked by the Department or voluntarily surrendered by the licensee.
Licenses issued for day care centers, day care homes, and group day care
shall be valid for 3 years from the date issued, unless revoked by the
Department or voluntarily surrendered by the licensee. When
a licensee has made timely and sufficient application for the renewal of
a license or a new license with reference to any activity of a continuing
nature, the existing license shall continue in full force and effect for
up to 30 days until the final agency decision on the application has been
made. The Department may further extend the period in which such decision
must be made in individual cases for up to 30 days, but such extensions
shall be only upon good cause shown.
(e) The Department may issue one 6-month permit to a newly
established facility for child care to allow that facility reasonable
time to become eligible for a full license. If the facility for child care
is a foster family home, or day care home the Department may issue one
2-month permit only.
(f) The Department may issue an emergency permit to a child care
facility taking in children as a result of the temporary closure for
more than 2 weeks of a licensed child care facility due to a
natural disaster. An emergency permit under this subsection shall be
issued to a facility only if the persons providing child care services at
the facility were employees of the temporarily closed day care center at the
time it was closed. No investigation of an employee of a child care facility
receiving an emergency permit under this subsection shall be required if that
employee has previously been investigated at another child care facility. No
emergency permit issued under this subsection shall be valid for more than 90
days after the date of issuance.
(g) During the hours of operation of any licensed child care
facility, authorized representatives of the Department may without
notice visit the facility for the purpose of determining its continuing
compliance with this Act or regulations adopted pursuant thereto.
(h) Day care centers, day care homes, and group day care homes shall be
monitored at least annually by a licensing representative from the Department
or the agency that recommended licensure.
(Source: P.A. 98-804, eff. 1-1-15