Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
220 ILCS 5/8-202
(220 ILCS 5/8-202)
(from Ch. 111 2/3, par. 8-202)
Any public utility, or two or more public utilities, which
furnishes electricity or gas for space heating shall, during the calendar
months of November, December, January, February, and March:
(a) give written notice of its intention to terminate or cut off such
service or supply for any reason, other than by request of the customer,
to the customer. Such notice shall be sent by U.S. Mail at least 8 days
prior to termination of service or supply or delivered by other means to
the customer 5 days prior to such termination; and
(b) deliver written notice of intention to terminate or cut off such service
or supply for any reason, other than by request of the customer, to the
Director of the local department of public health or, if there is no local
department of public health, then to the township supervisor or, if there
is no township supervisor, then to the county sheriff where the premises
receiving such service or supply is located; and
(c) send, by certified mail, prior written notice of its intention to
terminate or cut off such service or supply for any reason, other than by
request of the customer, to the owner of record and/or the mortgagee of
the premises receiving such service or supply, should the owner of record
or mortgagee make request to the public utility for any such notice.
The notice required by paragraphs (b) and (c) of this Section shall be
delivered or mailed at least 24 hours and not more than 48 hours prior to
the termination of service or supply.
Any termination notice delivered or mailed to a customer shall include a
statement advising said customer that the township supervisor, local department
of public health, or county sheriff, and the owner and/or the mortgagee,
if applicable, will be notified of the termination action at least 24 hours
prior to the termination of service or supply.
Nothing in this Act shall be construed to limit the power of the Commission
to adopt other rules and regulations pursuant to service termination notices.
No public official to whom notice is given pursuant to subparagraph (b)
of this Section shall be liable for death, injury or damages resulting from
cut-off of electricity or gas service or supply.
(Source: P.A. 84-617.)