Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
220 ILCS 5/13-515
(220 ILCS 5/13-515)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on December 31, 2026)
(a) The following expedited procedures shall be used
to enforce the provisions of Section 13-514 of this
Act, provided that, for a violation of paragraph (8) of Section 13-514 to qualify for the expedited procedures of this Section, the violation must be in a manner that unreasonably delays, increases the cost, or impedes the availability of telecommunications services to consumers. However, the
Commission, the complainant, and the respondent may mutually agree to adjust
procedures established in this Section.
(c) No complaint may be filed under this Section until the
complainant has first notified the respondent of the alleged
violation and offered the respondent
48 hours to correct the situation. Provision of notice and the
opportunity to correct the situation creates a rebuttable presumption of
knowledge under Section 13-514.
After the filing of a complaint under this Section, the parties may agree to
follow the mediation process under Section 10-101.1 of this Act. The time
periods specified in subdivision (d)(7) of this Section shall be tolled
during the time
spent in mediation under Section 10-101.1.
(d) A telecommunications carrier may file a complaint with the
Commission alleging a violation of Section 13-514 in
accordance with this subsection:
(1) The complaint shall be filed with the Chief Clerk
of the Commission and shall be served in hand upon the respondent, the executive director, and the general counsel of the Commission at the time of the filing.
(2) A complaint filed under this subsection shall
include a statement that the requirements of subsection (c) have been fulfilled and that the respondent did not correct the situation as requested.
(3) Reasonable discovery specific to the issue of the
complaint may commence upon filing of the complaint. Requests for discovery must be served in hand and responses to discovery must be provided in hand to the requester within 14 days after a request for discovery is made.
(4) An answer and any other responsive pleading to
the complaint shall be filed with the Commission and served in hand at the same time upon the complainant, the executive director, and the general counsel of the Commission within 7 days after the date on which the complaint is filed.
(5) If the answer or responsive pleading raises the
issue that the complaint violates subsection (i) of this Section, the complainant may file a reply to such allegation within 3 days after actual service of such answer or responsive pleading. Within 4 days after the time for filing a reply has expired, the hearing officer or arbitrator shall either issue a written decision dismissing the complaint as frivolous in violation of subsection (i) of this Section including the reasons for such disposition or shall issue an order directing that the complaint shall proceed.
(6) A pre-hearing conference shall be held within 14
days after the date on which the complaint is filed.
(7) The hearing shall commence within 30 days of the
date on which the complaint is filed. The hearing may be conducted by an administrative law judge or by an arbitrator. Parties and the Commission staff shall be entitled to present evidence and legal argument in oral or written form as deemed appropriate by the administrative law judge or arbitrator. The administrative law judge or arbitrator shall issue a written decision within 60 days after the date on which the complaint is filed. The decision shall include reasons for the disposition of the complaint and, if a violation of Section 13-514 is found, directions and a deadline for correction of the violation.
(8) Any party may file a petition requesting the
Commission to review the decision of the administrative law judge or arbitrator within 5 days of such decision. Any party may file a response to a petition for review within 3 business days after actual service of the petition. After the time for filing of the petition for review, but no later than 15 days after the decision of the administrative law judge or arbitrator, the Commission shall decide to adopt the decision of the administrative law judge or arbitrator or shall issue its own final order.
(e) If the alleged violation has a substantial adverse effect
on the ability of the complainant to provide service to
customers, the complainant may include in its complaint a
request for an order for emergency relief. The
Commission, acting through its designated administrative law judge or arbitrator, shall act upon such a request
within 2 business days of the filing of the complaint. An order for
emergency relief may be granted, without an evidentiary
hearing, upon a verified factual showing that the party
seeking relief will likely succeed on the merits, that the
party will suffer irreparable harm in its ability to serve
customers if emergency relief is not granted, and that the
order is in the public interest. An order for emergency
relief shall include a finding that the requirements of this
subsection have been fulfilled and shall specify the
directives that must be fulfilled by the respondent and
deadlines for meeting those directives. The decision of
the administrative law judge or arbitrator to grant or deny
emergency relief shall be considered an order of the
Commission unless the Commission enters its own order within 2 calendar days of
the decision of the administrative law judge or arbitrator. The order for emergency
relief may require
the responding party to act or refrain from acting so as to
protect the provision of competitive service offerings to
customers. Any action required by an emergency relief
order must be technically feasible and economically reasonable and the
must be given a reasonable period of time to comply with
(f) The Commission is authorized to obtain outside resources
including, but not limited to, arbitrators and consultants for
the purposes of the hearings authorized by this Section.
Any arbitrator or consultant obtained by the Commission
shall be approved by both parties to the hearing.
The cost of such outside resources including, but not limited to, arbitrators
and consultants shall be borne by the parties. The Commission shall review
the bill for reasonableness and assess the parties for reasonable costs
dividing the costs according to the resolution of the complaint brought under
this Section. Such costs shall be paid by the parties directly to the
arbitrators, consultants, and other providers of outside resources within 60
days after receiving notice of the assessments from the Commission. Interest
at the statutory rate shall accrue after expiration of the 60-day period. The
Commission, arbitrators, consultants, or other providers of outside
resources may apply to a court of competent jurisdiction for an order
(g) The Commission shall assess the parties under this subsection for
all of the
Commission's costs of investigation and conduct of the
proceedings brought under this Section including, but not limited to, the
prorated salaries of staff, attorneys, administrative law judges, and support
personnel and including any travel and per diem, directly attributable to the
complaint brought pursuant to this Section, but excluding those costs provided
for in subsection (f), dividing the costs according to the resolution of
the complaint brought under this Section. All
assessments made under this subsection shall be paid into the Public
Utility Fund within
60 days after receiving notice of the assessments from the
Commission. Interest at the statutory rate shall accrue after
the expiration of the 60 day period. The Commission is
authorized to apply to a court of competent jurisdiction for an
order requiring payment.
(h) If the Commission determines that there is an imminent
threat to competition or to the public interest, the
Commission may, notwithstanding any other provision of this Act, seek
temporary, preliminary, or permanent
injunctive relief from a court of competent jurisdiction either
prior to or after the hearing.
(i) A party shall not bring or defend a proceeding brought under
this Section or assert or controvert an issue in a proceeding brought under
this Section, unless
there is a non-frivolous basis for doing so. By presenting a
pleading, written motion, or other paper in complaint or
defense of the actions or inaction of a party under this
Section, a party is certifying to the Commission that to the
best of that party's knowledge, information, and belief,
formed after a reasonable inquiry of the subject matter of the
complaint or defense, that the complaint or defense is well
grounded in law and fact, and under the circumstances:
(1) it is not being presented to harass the other
party, cause unnecessary delay in the provision of competitive telecommunications services to consumers, or create needless increases in the cost of litigation; and
(2) the allegations and other factual contentions
have evidentiary support or, if specifically so identified, are likely to have evidentiary support after reasonable opportunity for further investigation or discovery as defined herein.
(j) If, after notice and a reasonable opportunity to respond,
the Commission determines that subsection (i) has been
violated, the Commission shall impose appropriate
sanctions upon the party or parties that have violated
subsection (i) or are responsible for the violation. The
sanctions shall be not more than $30,000, plus the
amount of expenses accrued by the Commission for
conducting the hearing. Payment of sanctions imposed under this subsection
shall be made to the Common School Fund within 30 days of
imposition of such sanctions.
(k) An appeal of a Commission Order made pursuant to this
Section shall not effectuate a stay of the Order unless a court
of competent jurisdiction specifically finds that the party
seeking the stay will likely succeed on the merits, that the party
will suffer irreparable harm without the stay, and that the stay is
in the public interest.
(Source: P.A. 100-20, eff. 7-1-17; 100-840, eff. 8-13-18