Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
215 ILCS 5/500-35
(215 ILCS 5/500-35)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
(a) Unless denied a license pursuant to Section 500-70, persons who have met
requirements of Sections 500-25 and 500-30 shall be issued a 2-year insurance
An insurance producer may receive qualification for a license in one or more of
lines of authority:
(1) Life: insurance coverage on human lives including
benefits of endowment and annuities, and may include benefits in the event of death or dismemberment by accident and benefits for disability income.
(2) Variable life and variable annuity products:
insurance coverage provided under variable life insurance contracts and variable annuities.
(3) Accident and health or sickness: insurance
coverage for sickness, bodily injury, or accidental death and may include benefits for disability income.
(4) Property: insurance coverage for the direct or
consequential loss or damage to property of every kind.
(5) Casualty: insurance coverage against legal
liability, including that for death, injury, or disability or damage to real or personal property.
(6) Personal lines: property and casualty insurance
coverage sold to individuals and families for primarily noncommercial purposes.
(7) Any other line of insurance permitted under State
(b) An insurance producer license shall remain in effect unless revoked or
as long as the fee set forth in Section 500-135 is paid and education
requirements for resident
individual producers are met by the due date.
(1) Before each license renewal, an insurance
producer must satisfactorily complete at least 24 hours of course study in accordance with rules prescribed by the Director. Three of the 24 hours of course study must consist of classroom or webinar ethics instruction. The Director may not approve a course of study unless the course provides for classroom, seminar, webinar, or self-study instruction methods. A course given in a combination instruction method of classroom, seminar, webinar, or self-study shall be deemed to be a self-study course unless the classroom, seminar, or webinar certified hours meets or exceeds two-thirds of total hours certified for the course. The self-study material used in the combination course must be directly related to and complement the classroom portion of the course in order to be considered for credit. An instruction method other than classroom or seminar shall be considered as self-study methodology. Self-study credit hours require the successful completion of an examination covering the self-study material. The examination may not be self-evaluated. However, if the self-study material is completed through the use of an approved computerized interactive format whereby the computer validates the successful completion of the self-study material, no additional examination is required. The self-study credit hours contained in a certified course shall be considered classroom hours when at least two-thirds of the hours are given as classroom or seminar instruction.
(2) An insurance producer license automatically
terminates when an insurance producer fails to successfully meet the requirements of item (1) of subsection (b) of this Section. The producer must complete the course in advance of the renewal date to allow the education provider time to report the credit to the Department.
(c) A provider of a pre-licensing or continuing education course required
500-30 and this Section must pay a registration fee and a course certification
fee for each course
being certified as provided by Section 500-135.
(d) An individual insurance producer who allows his or her license to lapse
within 12 months after the due date of the renewal fee, be issued a license
without the necessity
of passing a written examination. However, a penalty in the amount of double
the unpaid renewal
fee shall be required after the due date.
(e) A licensed insurance producer who is unable to comply with license
procedures due to military service may request a waiver of those procedures.
(f) The license must contain the licensee's name, address, and personal
number, the date of issuance, the lines of authority, the expiration date, and
information the Director deems necessary.
(g) Licensees must inform the Director by any means acceptable to the
Director of a
change of address within 30 days after the change.
(h) In order to assist in the performance of the Director's duties, the
contract with a non-governmental entity including the National Association of
Commissioners (NAIC), or any affiliates or subsidiaries that the NAIC oversees,
to perform any
ministerial functions, including collection of fees, related to producer
licensing that the Director
and the non-governmental entity may deem appropriate.
(Source: P.A. 100-876, eff. 8-14-18.)