Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

215 ILCS 5/356c

    (215 ILCS 5/356c) (from Ch. 73, par. 968c)
    Sec. 356c. (1) No policy of accident and health insurance providing coverage of hospital expenses or medical expenses or both on an expense incurred basis which in addition to covering the insured, also covers members of the insured's immediate family, shall contain any disclaimer, waiver or other limitation of coverage relative to the hospital or medical coverage or insurability of newborn infants from and after the moment of birth.
    (2) Each such policy of accident and health insurance shall contain a provision stating that the accident and health insurance benefits applicable for children shall be granted immediately with respect to a newly born child from the moment of birth. The coverage for newly born children shall include coverage of illness, injury, congenital defects, birth abnormalities and premature birth.
    (3) If payment of a specific premium is required to provide coverage for a child, the policy may require that notification of birth of a newly born child must be furnished to the insurer within 31 days after the date of birth in order to have the coverage continue beyond such 31 day period and may require payment of the appropriate premium.
    (4) In the event that no other members of the insured's immediate family are covered, immediate coverage for the first newborn infant shall be provided if the insured applies for dependent's coverage within 31 days of the newborn's birth. Such coverage shall be contingent upon payment of the additional premium.
    (5) The requirements of this Section shall apply, on or after the sixtieth day following the effective date of this Section, (a) to all such non-group policies delivered or issued for delivery, and (b) to all such group policies delivered, issued for delivery, renewed or amended. The insurers of such non-group policies in effect on the sixtieth day following the effective date of this Section shall extend to owners of said policies, on or before the first policy anniversary following such date, the opportunity to apply for the addition to their policies of a provision as set forth in paragraph (2) above, with, at the option of the insurer, payment of a premium appropriate thereto.
(Source: P.A. 85-220.)