Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(210 ILCS 45/3-401.1)
(from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 4153-401.1)
(a) A facility participating in the Medical Assistance
Program is prohibited from failing or refusing to retain as a resident any
person because he or she is a recipient of or an applicant for the Medical
(a-5) After the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1997, a facility
of which only a distinct part is certified to participate in the Medical
Assistance Program may refuse to retain as a resident any person who resides in
a part of the facility that does not participate in the Medical Assistance
Program and who is unable to pay for his or her care in the facility without
Medical Assistance only if:
(1) the facility, no later than at the time of
admission and at the time of the resident's contract renewal, explains to the resident (unless he or she is incompetent), and to the resident's representative, and to the person making payment on behalf of the resident for the resident's stay, in writing, that the facility may discharge the resident if the resident is no longer able to pay for his or her care in the facility without Medical Assistance;
(2) the resident (unless he or she is incompetent),
the resident's representative, and the person making payment on behalf of the resident for the resident's stay, acknowledge in writing that they have received the written explanation.
(a-10) For the purposes of this Section, a recipient or
applicant shall be considered a resident in the facility during any
hospital stay totaling 10 days or less following a hospital admission.
The Department of Healthcare and Family Services shall recoup funds from a facility
when, as a result of the facility's refusal to readmit a recipient after
hospitalization for 10 days or less, the recipient incurs hospital bills in
an amount greater than the amount that would have been paid by that
Department (formerly the Illinois Department of Public Aid) for care of the recipient in the facility. The amount of the
recoupment shall be the difference between the Department of Healthcare and Family Services' (formerly the Illinois Department of
Public Aid's) payment for hospital care and the amount that Department
would have paid for care in the facility.
(b) A facility which violates this Section shall be guilty of a business
offense and fined not less than $500 nor more than $1,000 for the first
offense and not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000 for each subsequent
(Source: P.A. 95-331, eff. 8-21-07.)