Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

210 ILCS 9/40

    (210 ILCS 9/40)
    Sec. 40. Probationary licenses. If the applicant has not been previously licensed under this Act or if the establishment is not in operation at the time the application is made and if the Department determines that the applicant meets the licensure requirements of this Act, the Department shall issue a probationary license. A probationary license shall be valid for 120 days unless sooner suspended or revoked. Within 30 days prior to the termination of a probationary license, the Department shall fully and completely review the establishment and, if the establishment meets the applicable requirements for licensure, shall issue a license, except that, during a statewide public health emergency, as defined in the Illinois Emergency Management Agency Act, the Department shall fully and completely review the establishment to the extent feasible. If the Department finds that the establishment does not meet the requirements for licensure but has made substantial progress toward meeting those requirements, the license may be renewed once for a period not to exceed 120 days from the expiration date of the initial probationary license.
(Source: P.A. 103-1, eff. 4-27-23.)